A Day In The Kitchen

Brown Sugar Cookies

Since the Great Hive Incident of 2013 I have spent a lot of time reading labels and making things at home. The doctor had 2 suggestions* for us: 1. avoid as much soy as possible just in case that is the offending item and 2. if you’re eating a big meal dose N with Benadryl before. I really hate to drug him for no reason so I have been extra diligent with number 1. This involves lots of time in the kitchen because if you don’t already know soy is in everything. Bread, cookies, chocolate and almost every convenience food. So in an effort to add back a few treats I baked some cookies and they’re really tasty. The recipe is here. Don’t make them if you have no willpower, just saying.

*Hopefully this is just temporary. We visit the allergist at the end of November.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in baking, food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Day In The Kitchen

  1. Kepanie says:

    I have never had brown sugar cookies. These look tasty. I hope your son’s allergy gets sorted out. Very frustrating when our children have a bodily reaction and we can’t understand why.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Cookies look yummy! Hope you find out what is causing N’s hives and that it is easy to remedy.

    Like

  3. Stacey says:

    Those cookies sound so wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. It is scary just what is included in food unless we made everything ourselves. With cookies like that it looks worth doing!
    I hope the allergist is able to narrow the field when you see them.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    I never really thought about how much soy is in things, but I can only imagine how horrible it would be to have to avoid it. I hope it all works out for you two. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Pat(ricia) says:

    Looks great and I bet N and the family truly enjoyed them. It amazes me how you will go the extra mile – not only because N is your son, but out of love and generosity – giving back the extra *just in case*. Hope the doctor’s appointment yields concrete/tangible workable results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

