FO Friday: Remember The Light

I don’t know why I never consider the light. Yesterday I knew I’d want to take a photo of Arroyo in the morning when I was sure it was 100% dry. Fall mornings are dark and the light is poor or artificial which is also poor. So I took two photos this morning. The first is of Arroyo without a flash hanging on the back of the chair where I could find a bit of natural light. This gives you a pretty good idea of the color of the yarn.

The second photo is pretty harsh. It shows the dust and scratches on the chair and doesn’t highlight the shawl at all.

So I think there is a lesson here: Photograph items in the dark and your house looks clean and your furniture antique. If you use a flash your house is dirty and your furniture used. Maybe photographing outside is the way to go.

As for the shawl, it is Arroyo by Sarah H. Wolf knit in Stonehedge Fiber Mill Shepherd’s Wool Worsted in granite. I highly recommend the pattern and the yarn but as a pair they are a perfect match. My shawl ended up being quite a bit longer than the 5 feet the pattern calls for. I tend to block vigorously and this yarn blocks readily.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FO Friday: Remember The Light

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh yay! I am so glad it’s done. That first photo really does show it off so well!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    What a pretty shawl! And narrow enough that you could use it like a scarf with your winter coat.
    Photoing in the fall/winter is a real challenge! You did a good job. 🙂

    Like

  3. Winnie says:

    So very beautiful!

    Isn’t it crazy trying to get a perfect picture of your items?! 🙂

    Like

  4. avantaknits says:

    Oh, that’s so pretty! The first photo lends a bit of mystery to the project, which is very cool.

    Like

  5. Janet says:

    Your Arroyo is gorgeous. The gray yarn shows the pattern so well. You’re right, they are a perfect match.

    Like

  6. caityrosey says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Harsh light exposes flaws everywhere. I like the first photo. It looks artistic.

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Ha ha! I enjoyed your photography lesson! I really do like the first photo – it looks like a Dutch still life, all moody and shadowy. The shawl blocked out beautifully – another winner!!

    Like

  8. Lovely! And I agree, most things look better without flash, no matter how dark!

    Like

  9. Your shawl is beautiful. As for the light, that’s the reason I take pictures outside. It’s easier to hide the mess 🙂

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    What a great shawlette. It has this vibe to nature.

    Like

  11. monsteryarns says:

    Thanks goodness! You’re like me on the housekeeping front : )

    Like

  12. The shawl is beautiful and we’ll not talk about dust. Ok?

    Like

  13. Pat(ricia) says:

    roflmbo …. I absolutely love your lighting analogy …. oh how true the harshness of flash can be.

    But more importantly – it is absolutely gorgeous – the shawl – but I like the chair too – just as it is. But ohhh the shawl – the structure and detail are beautiful. I am so glad it is finally done. No more struggles and trying moments. And yeah, I think it was worth it! Just awesome. 🙂

    Like

  14. MsDarling says:

    Beautiful shawl! Especially in the first picture, it’s amazing the difference that lighting can make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

