Recipe SOS

I’ve got about 30 cortland apples in my refrigerator so I am looking for a recipe for apple bread. Something on the idea of pumpkin bread or banana bread where the fruit is used, not apple sauce. I’ve looked on Pinterest and the apple recipes are overwhelming. This recipe is sort of what I want but that cup of oil is scary. I’d rather use butter or much less oil. Has anyone made this one? I think it’s the closest to what I’m looking for except for the topping. Since the bread will only use so many apples, do you have another suggestion for something other than pie?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in baking, food, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Recipe SOS

  1. Kate says:

    I love Norweigan Apple Cake (i’m norweigan) and it’s easy to make. This is a good recipe that is as close to my great-aunt’s that i can find:http://www.thehouseofsmiths.com/2013/05/magnis-norwegian-apple-cake-reader.html

    I also make baked apples for dessert. Apple cinnamon coffee cake (freezes well) and apple-based curry for dinner. 🙂

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Never made an apple bread… I’ve made applesauce though. Was pretty yummy! That’d use up as many apples as you want…

    Like

  3. Ummrania says:

    I always use my “too many apples” for apple crisp…..you can add pretty much any other fruit to it as well if you like (plums, berries, etc)

    Like

  4. Pat(ricia) says:

    I’ve checked out both recipes and they seem fine. As for the quantity of oil in the first … it would be the equal of a cup or stick of butter (actually probably more butter needed.) but remember – the fat content in a loaf can be reduced … provided you add some other slightly less fat content to the mix. And you’d probably need to add some liquid to help the mix keep a slightly moister consistency.

    So, for example, you could use say, slightly over a 1/4 cup of oil and then add a low fat yogurt to the mix and it would still produce a good consistency, even after baked. Milk could be added too. And if you are using raisins, boil them in water to soften and add the reserve water to the mix as well.

    I hope this helps some … I guess it all depends on how you bake … whether you follow a recipe to the letter … or sort of mix it up as you go.

    I have a very basic recipe for zucinni (sp?) loaf that calls for a cup of oil and I never use that much. And I substitute all kinds of other things … bananas, peaches, nectarines, apples, blue berries etc. And it all works out fine.

    When you’re done with the baking, you can always freeze the loafs as well …. they should keep for up to 6 months no problems. 🙂

    Like

  5. Renee Anne says:

    Personally, I’d make applesauce and then do replacement of oil in other recipes. I don’t know the specifics of it but I know you can replace oil in recipes with applesauce and it turns out similarly. I’ve done it with brownies.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    Yummm…apple bread sounds like a fun and great choice.

    Like

  7. caityrosey says:

    I’ve never made apple bread, but it certainly sounds tasty. I’ve heard that you can sometimes substitute diced apple for blueberries in many recipes. So that’s an idea.

    Like

  8. Vonna says:

    Thanks looks so good. Makes me want to bake. Thanks for liking my post.

    Like

  9. Vonna says:

    I meant to say THAT not thanks. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

