Terror-Stricken*

Today was the day I dropped my Celestarium shawl off at the Topsfield Fair. I have been freaked out all weekend at the thought of someone “judging” my knitting. It’s very pretty but I don’t really think it’s worthy of even being entered. I said I would do it and I did it but I was terrified just thinking about walking into the building. It really was anticlimactic since there were few people there and dropping off just involved swapping my shawl for a small piece of paper. The other half of that piece of paper was pinned to the shawl. I am relieved to know that when we go to the fair and I see it with all the amazing pieces no one will know that I am the person who entered it. Will someone please tell me when I will no longer feel like the kid I was walking into the first day of junior high?

*I love this word used in this context since Stricken is German for “to knit” and I’m talking about my knitting. I suppose it isn’t quite as humorous as I think it is since I have to explain it.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Terror-Stricken*

  1. mamatyphoo says:

    You celestarium was so beautiful, good luck in the fair.

    Like

  2. Consider that it is there to inspire other knitters rather than being judged. I’m sure it will be very much admired as it was so beautiful.

    Like

  3. Good luck! I don’t think I’d be brave enough to enter my knitting to be judged!

    Like

  4. elpalchica says:

    Yay! I can’t wait to crow to the world that you made it. I am going to say it very LOUD to the boys when we go to see it and Conor is going to say very LOUD back “KAREN MADE IT?!” And I will say “Yes! KAREN MADE IT!”

    Like

  5. Marilyn says:

    Yay! You’re brave enough to enter something at the fair!! It is a beautiful shawl and I’m guessing there will be a ribbon on it when you go back to the fair.
    (I don’t think we ever get over feeling like someone from Jr High. Unfortunately.)

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    That shawl is worthy of the grand prize!!!! You should be very proud of yourself.

    Like

  7. soknitsome says:

    Hope it went well. You certainly deserve a prize for such a lovely shawl! And as a German-speaker I first of all thought the heading was from a German blog! Neat word-play 🙂

    Like

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Your Celestarium is so impressive on many levels. Even if you don’t get a ribbon (and I’m pretty sure you will!), just the experience of seeing it displayed at the fair and knowing that thousands of people will admire it and be inspired, will make you feel so good.

    Like

  9. Pat(ricia) says:

    I’m glad you entered it anyhow – overcoming your doubts. This in itself is an accomplishment! As for the shawl – just gorgeous. It truly is beautiful and you should be proud of yourself and it. Good luck … and in all cases – well done 🙂

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    Good luck, Karen! You knitted up a marvelous shawl. How can one not notice that?!

    Like

  11. Teresa C says:

    Good for you! It is fun just to see your shawl hanging on display, but I’m sure the it will be viewed favorably. I hope I get over to see it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

