It All Worked Out

I ended up ripping out two rows and binding off. It’s fine though ripping out a bind off edge requires just a bit more attention than tinking back a regular row. I haven’t had this sort of knitting crisis in ages. This is the wet blocking on the floor photo of the Quaker Yarn Stretcher by Susan Ashcroft. The yarn is Spunky Eclectic wool blend in gossip spun and gifted to me ages ago by Karenc. I wanted to find the perfect pattern to go with the yarn and I would say I finally, after many years search, found it. The pattern is easy to follow and remember. It was a complete pleasure to knit. I can’t recommend it enough. It is perfect for handspun yarn or really any yarn with a long color repeat. Β I’m sure I’ll knit another one or more in the future.

My Monday fell into the all worked out in the end category too. In the morning when I was getting ready to drive H to work I was running the car windows up and down clearing off the condensation when there was a loud snapping and grinding noise. The cable on the rear window broke and the window wouldn’t go up. We quickly drove to my mother’s swapped cars and got H to work. I sorted out a new regulator and motor and went to the glass place to have it installed. 5 hours after the start of the issue it was all fixed and I was ready to tackle my regular day. I will say if it had to happen at all it picked a day when I was pretty much free since N had the day off from school and I was planning to just get groceries. Then when it was time to go to Knit Night The Husband was not home from work so I took N along and let him eat Oreo cheesecake until The Husband arrived to gather him up. This worked out well too. N has asked for a couple of years to go to Knit Night. I think he thought it was some sort of wild party with yarn but after being there for a short time he wanted to go home. I don’t think he’ll be asking to go again but I’m sure he’ll want me to bring home cheesecake.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It All Worked Out

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I love how your Quaker Yarn Stretcher turned out! Now I can’t wait to start my own. It was fun having N there for knit night – even if we did bore him to death – ha! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Isn’t it nice when your day isn’t perfect but in the end it all works out ok anyway! Hope the rest of your week runs as smoothly. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    Yea! It’s done. Great job on this shawl.

    Like

  4. Pat(ricia) says:

    Wow …. it looks great! Glad that it didn’t involve too much pain upon finishing … always a bonus πŸ™‚

    Nothing quite like vehicular troubles to start the day …. but I’m glad it was all fixed and taken care of rather easily and quickly …. although 5 hours seems a lifetime to me, but that’s because I get instantly and really impatient regarding “car stuff” even when I have nothing on my agenda.

    As for N and knit night …. lol …. maybe all the needles clicking and the sharing of stories was just too boring, eh? I’m sure the cheesecake more than made up for his waiting time πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

