Adjusting To The New Normal

N’s cilantro

Today was day 2 of our new schedule. I am a huge creature of habit so when things change I have a really hard time. I like my rut and I hate when people make me get out of it. The Husband is now working a later shift and a longer day so he is able to drive H to work but by the time he gets home and we eat dinner and get the after dinner stuff done it’s after 8:00 and I really just want to go to bed particularly since the day still starts at 6. N is very happy that the new school year has started. I was hoping we’d ease back in, walking to and fro every day. But no. It was raining this morning so we had to drive. Starting the day with road rage because Mommy and Daddy don’t know how to drop Suzy and Jimmie off at school doesn’t bode well for the rest of the day. How hard is it to wait in the line behind the other cars who, by the way, have been waiting to pull up? Why do you drive around everyone and slide in where a car couldn’t pull forward because Billy was half out the door and we don’t want the principal to have to send home a notice telling us that driving with children half out of the car door is poor parenting and sets a bad example for the children. So yes, I may be a bit cranky until I get used to this new rut which isn’t nearly as nice as the last one.

N’s cilantro had done pretty well considering how late in the season it was planted. I have a question though. Is it supposed to be that floppy and just kind of hang over? I’m planning to make some pico de gallo using my variation of this recipe. I think I’ll pick up a bit of extra cilantro at the store just to be sure I have enough. There aren’t many leaves on the plant.

Remember yesterday I mentioned I had plans for my first day home alone. Well I had considered watching TV and knitting all day but then I realized I should do something that I would get to really enjoy so I cleaned the kitchen. No really. I washed all the dishes, cleaned out the fridge, threw away all the boxes with 3 crackers or 1/2 cup of cereal, vacuumed up the dog food that was all over the floor, cleared off and washed the counter really good and even washed the top of the fridge. Then I went in the other room and read some email and blogs. When I went back into the kitchen it was just as clean and bare as I had left it. No one had dropped a bowl in the sink or a pile of papers on the counter. It was glorious.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in blog stuff, blogging, food, garden, plant, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adjusting To The New Normal

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Well, that would be an extremely frustrating way to start the day – it’s supposed to be nicer tomorrow, so hopefully you and N can walk to school and pass right by all those bad drivers. And, since your kitchen is (or at least was) nice and clean, I hope you can spend this rainy day curled up in front of the TV with your knitting! 🙂

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    There are people out there who think they are privileged and should get to go to the head of the line no matter what. And it seems to happen a lot when people are driving…I wonder why that is…
    Clean kitchen. Yay! Too bad they don’t stay that way very long.
    Happy knitting today. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pat(ricia) says:

    Oooh … I DO hope the nasty day-start ends there and doesn’t spill over into the rest. People are so in a rush and inconsiderate and always running late … so they think they are “entitled.” It sucks. And having to bear with it especially since you are adapting to the new scheduling and routines doesn’t help the temper.

    I so hear you on the difficulty adapting. But maybe you’ll be able to find a spark of slight difference that is inspiring rather than infuriating and annoying.

    As for cleaning the kitchen ….. LOL …. sometimes a huge crazy cleaning session is JUST what is needed to not only clear the mess but also clear out the mind’s cobwebs. Well done!

    Like

  4. Michelle says:

    I am a creature of habit also. I’m always resistant to big changes. But, we can’t avoid them, can we? I’m sure you’ll get into a rhythm after a little time.

    Like

  5. Pat(ricia) says:

    ohhhh … I forgot to mention the cilantro ….. yes … cilantro flops a lot.

    Often in greenhouse production there is an over-sow in the seeding stage – meaning more seeds are planted than necessary, and then once the initial growth starts, it is transplanted into bunches in smaller formats.

    The next time you decide to seed, try generally sowing in a container with drainage … often called ‘flats’ … but you could use an empty washed and rinsed mushroom package or something … just poke drainage holes into it. Use specifically formulated “pro-mix” for seeding, can be found most probably at your local nursery … trust me … it’s worth the effort, especially for herbs and plant starting because it’s sterilized and lighter than soil – and then sow more than you think. Once growth begins … and there are a few sets of leaves …. you can transplant into a different container, using potting soil if you wish. Plant in bunches … little tufts of seedlings together.

    As the plants grow, if they get too leggy …. you can shear them … they will grow in thicker and produce a better yield. It just takes time …. so if you really are planning on using your home grown herbs, it’s always better to have more than you think you need …. then you can always have some ready for use.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    I can’t help you with the cilantro question but in Chinese we call it “yon-sai.” It’s used to top off steamed fish and jook in the restaurant. I love it with the usual suspects like salsa or salad.
    I detest those car lines. I can’t stand them. We live 6 mi from school. I leave about 50 minutes before school starts to drive the 20-25 minute drive so I can park and personally walk my girls into the yard. There is plenty of neighborhood parking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

