WIP Wednesday: Decision Done

Today is the first day of school. N was all set and ready to go at the crack of dawn. So that means today if my first day home alone. I have so many plans but I’m not going to jinx it by mentioning them.

I did cast on something new. I decided on the Quaker Yarn Stretcher. The yarn is some hand spun I was gifted a few years back. I’ve looked for patterns to knit this yarn but I could never find the right one until now. I really like the way the pattern is showing off the color changes in the yarn. My only concern at this point is if I’ll have enough yarn to make it long enough. I am an optimist though so I’ll just keep going.

Just because I started something new doesn’t mean I’ve finished anything. The socks are still waiting for the toe. I’ll get to it some time in the next few days. The pattern is my standard 64 stitch sock with a heel flap and the yarn is some hand dyed I got in a swap years ago.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Decision Done

  1. Lisa says:

    YAY! You did pick that shawl. Those colors will be so pretty on it, no matter what length it ends up being.

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I was hoping you would do the Quaker Yarn Stretcher! πŸ™‚ I think that yarn is gorgeous and is perfect for this project. I’ve been wanting to make this pattern too, so maybe your project will inspire me to get started. Have fun on your first day alone!

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    The shawl shows off the colors so beautifully! Great looking socks too! πŸ™‚
    I always loved 1st days of school…as a mom that is…not so much as a kid! πŸ˜‰ Sounds like N was ready to start again tho. Have a fun day!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Nice shawl project. I like the gentle colors of these melony shades. Yea, on the second sock being almost done. I need to get more done in mine.

    Like

  5. Pretty shawl πŸ™‚ It’s showing off the yarn colours beautifully

    Like

  6. That handspun looks great in that pattern!

    Like

  7. Pat(ricia) says:

    Glad you figured it out!

    The socks are looking good and I think the Quaker Yarn Stretcher will be just great. It seems to be coming along nicely πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Vivianne says:

    That sock yarn is quite lovely πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Sam says:

    Your shawl will be gorgeous, that really is lovely yarn!

    Like

  10. terra says:

    Lovely projects.

    Like

  11. Janet says:

    Very pretty yarn and it works really well with the scarf pattern. I have several pairs of socks begging for attention. I need to sort that out soon.

    Like

  12. I went and favorited the Quaker yarn stretcher … I have lots of bits and bobs that could make good use of that pattern! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  13. Well those 3/4 done socks still look awesome. And suddenly very desirable, given that temps have dropped to the 50s here at night. Its 61 now, at 9 AM! The yarn for the shawl looks yummy. Going to be a cool project!

    Like

  14. Leslie says:

    My daughter ave me some yarn she had spun, I’m going to use it for Quaker yarn stretcher, too. She named her yarn ‘neapolitan’ now you know the colors.

    Like

  15. Michelle says:

    “Just because I started something new doesn’t mean I’ve finished anything” <– this basically sums up my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

