Button? Button? Who’s Got The Button?

Or buttons actually and that would me me! Do you know what that means? It is time to sew the buttons on my Topeka sweater. Of course there is a button story to tell. It isn’t very exciting but it is pretty typical for me. I went to Joann Fabric’s to pick out some buttons for Topeka. I knew before I went that I needed a number of buttons, more about that when I show you the sweater later this week, and my local Joann’s tends to have a limited number of buttons on the wall o’ buttons. I don’t know if they just sell so many buttons that they can’t keep up or if they just fail at ordering. As I stood in front of the wall I looked at the blue buttons starting at the top of the wall. There were some navy buttons that I liked but didn’t really scream “THESE ARE THE BUTTONS”. I worked my way down the wall trying buttons that were OK but many didn’t fit through the little YO buttonholes. I finally spotted this button at the very bottom of the wall and it just sang out that these are the buttons for Topeka. Unfortunately there were only 2 cards of buttons. I looked through all the other sizes hoping that maybe someone had put one pack in the wrong place but no. There were only 2 cards. That left me with 2 options. I could pick out something that wasn’t exactly what I wanted or I could drag The Husband and N who were promised a quick trip to Joann’s to another Joann’s a few towns away. Yeah, they were really good sports about the extra time and I got the buttons I love. Now I have to sew them on.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, camploopy2013, knits, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Button? Button? Who’s Got The Button?

  1. Glad you got ‘your’ buttons. I can’t wait to see your garment! I have the pattern now – encouraged by how wonderful yours looked.

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    They look like a perfect match for your Topeka. I’m glad you were able to find enough and can’t wait to see the finished project. I love collecting vintage buttons and a couple of times I’ve been lucky and had enough to use on knitting projects. 🙂

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Joanns here has the same problem. Every. Single. Time! They must just order too few. Frustrating! So glad you have another Joanns close by. Can’t wait to see them on Topeka!

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Those buttons will look so perfect on your sweater! Hurry and sew them on! 🙂 N and your husband are such good sports. At least when you got to the second Joann’s you knew exactly what you were looking for. Thank goodness the second store had them, or it might have turned into a real road trip, and you might have ended up in Maine, and then you would have had to stop at the donut place…..

    Like

  5. Pat(ricia) says:

    Glad you finally found the right ones for your sweater, although you are soooo teasing us with the wait 😉

    Can’t wait to see it all spiffy and finished.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    Are these painted wood? I love a good wooden button. And yes, I agree how JoAnn’s button collection is limited.

    Like

  7. Beth Holt says:

    Love the buttons! That’s a nice blue that’s just right. It’s getting around that I love to collect buttons so people are giving me their extra buttons which is fun to see what others have. Looking forward to seeing the completed sweater.

    Like

Leave a Reply

