Reentry

The Husband has been on vacation for the last two weeks (and returned to work this morning). We spent those weeks quietly at home mainly relaxing. He did some work around the house. I did plenty of knitting. It was heavenly.

One afternoon The Husband and N went to the park. While N played catch with the wall and his lacrosse stuff The Husband walked around the field. He found this tiny unbroken sparrow egg. I had never seen one and thought it was pretty cool.

H has been taking lunch to work so that she can work at her desk while eating and go home a bit earlier. To that end I have been baking lots of bread. Sandwiches always taste better on homemade bread. This is the Honey Oatmeal recipe from the book that came with my Kitchen Aid mixer. It was very good.

Now I have about 500 blog posts to read and a sweater to finish up but more about that tomorrow.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reentry

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Welcome back! Glad you had some lazy summer days. I have never seen a sparrow’s egg before either – it’s so tiny looking. Oh man, you are killing me with the photos of all your fresh baked breads – this one looks particularly delicious! Happy catching up!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Thanks for sharing the bread recipe, I am going to try it soon. I agree that all bread is better homemade. I hope you enjoyed your time off blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Renee Anne says:

    I need to start making bread. I haven’t done it much so I’m not very good at it…I think my first batch was so dense that it qualified as something other than bread (but it tasted pretty good).

    Like

  4. Pat(ricia) says:

    Welcome back and glad you had some lovely down time for your vacation. Sounds like it was just wonderfully relaxing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sparrow eggs are really cool … kind of like robins’ eggs. Always a treasure when one discovers the unexpected.

    Ohhh all that bread! I swear I can smell it all the way here. Seriously, And you are so right …. home-baked bread beats all other kinds, especially overly processed refined blah blah blah on store shelves. Yuck to that, but ohhh yum to your talents!

    Like

  5. That bread looks wonderful – but you have introduced me to sourdough and I have lots of starter to use!
    Enjoy catching up with the blog posts and knitting ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    I’ve had the urge to bake bread for several days now. I need to just do it! Glad to hear you had a nice stay at home vacation. They are good in their own way too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    It must smell heavenly in your home with all that bread baking! So awesome.
    What’d you do with the sparrow egg? Is it still alive?

    Like

Leave a Reply

