WIP Wednesday: The Evil Plan

I am always trying to find better ways to do things. I think lots of people live their life this way, trying new ways of doing things in an attempt to make life easier or more entertaining. One small example is when commuting I tend to try different routes until I find one that is pleasing. My current favorite route,  it isn’t the shortest but is the most entertaining, passes a house with lawn furniture on the front lawn. There is a couple of picnic tables, an umbrella table and an assortment of chairs. My favorite item though is the life size Snookie cut-out standing under the umbrella. She’s there whenever I pass by but if I pass late enough in the afternoon there will be a couple of men sitting with Snookie having an after work cocktail. I have considered knitting this Snookie a scarf and leaving it midday when I assume no one is home.

Anyway, yesterday I spent the better part of the day grocery shopping and cooking in the hope that I can squeeze a few extra hours of knitting time out of today and tomorrow. That is why there is little progress on the sweater. The sweater is Topeka and I am knitting it with Cascade 220 superwash sport in Westpoint Blue Heather. See the flipping hem? It’s driving me flipping crazy.

I baked some more bread yesterday. This is basic white bread from the book that came with my KitchenAid mixer. This particular recipe is quite yummy and we devoured most of a loaf with dinner.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, camploopy2013, food, Guilty Pleasures, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WIP Wednesday: The Evil Plan

  1. Renee Anne says:

    Oh the joys of stockinette….flipping hems, curling edges, bastards. Guess you won’t be throwing this in the dryer, even if the tag says you can 😦

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    That bread looks good. I got that mini cookbook with my Kitchen Aid. I think that cookie recipe is wrong. 375 is too hot. I need to try the bread hook.
    A stockinette hem can be a pain. I don’t think it will block out to stay flat. I tried with the stockinette sections on my Giants Infinity and the edges still curl. They were pinned too. The color’s great though.

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Love the Snooki story! I have been in a bread baking mood recently. I think it is the change in the air, much cooler here in Maine! The blue is lovely, but totally understand the hem issues…

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh man, you are killing me with all these pictures of fresh baked bread – yummmmm! Yes, yarn bomb that Snookie!! That hem is bothersome, maybe you can slip in some weights to hold it down (?).

    Like

  5. The bread looks delicious! That’s the thing about homemade bread – it’s hard to stop eating it. Conversely a friend was telling me that the downturn in bread’s popularity is not so much the low carb craze but the fact that so much of the bread at the supermarket isn’t very good tasting! Could be true!

    Love cascade but a hem that turns up would drive me wild too. Can you steam block it flat?

    Like

  6. Michelle says:

    I don’t drive, but my husband commutes to work, and he does the same sort of route alternation. I think it’s hilarious, but it’s clearly a coping mechanism for him. He hates traffic and he’d rather take a longer (distance) route than sit and wait.

    Like

  7. chrisknits says:

    Stop tempting me with bread!!! I am trying to cut back on carbs!! Love the knitting. Steam nay help the hem.

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    I need to make bread again. And I agree, Snooki needs a sweater. What a sight!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Getting Back Into It | NothingButKnit

Leave a Reply

