Yarn, Gauge and Knitting Sweaters

We had a peaceful hang around the house kind of weekend that was really great for finding knitting time. I spent hours knitting. Hours and hours watching a backlog of DVRed TV shows and knitting. It was really nice. I was able to knock out quite a bit of the sweater. It would have been more but my brain read something different than what the pattern said so I had to go back and knit a dozen rows twice.

This is my first time using Cascade 220 superwash sport. I’ve used Cascade 220, the worsted weight hand wash variety, many times. To be honest. this doesn’t seem much thinner than that. It does seem less smooth. Is this because of the superwash thing? There are a more than normal number of “fluffed” areas in the yarn. I’m guessing that’s the superwash thing too.

I’m not getting gauge but oddly enough I am close in measurement to the size I’m doing. I’ve got that nagging voice in my head telling me to “stop, rip, start again with different needles. Make a real gauge swatch. Don’t be a fool.”  But I have close to correct measurements. What to do ? I’m leaning towards carrying on, for now anyway. Fingers crossed.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, camploopy2013, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn, Gauge and Knitting Sweaters

  1. Lisa says:

    Keep calm and carry on 😛
    No really, if you are getting the correct measurements than throw gauge out the window. What matters is that it fits.

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It’s looking good! You made a lot of progress. If it fits, go with it!

    Like

  3. I agree that the article being the right size is more important than gauge. Obviously, it must be close or the size wouldn’t be right.

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Some ppl don’t like superwash because it has a funny feel to it. I would personally switch needles to gauge esp for a garment project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

