A New Living Creature

Bubble, bubble, toil and trouble

I have a new living creature to care for. It’s my sourdough starter! I have been working on the first step of day long directions of adding water and flour, waiting, dividing and doing it all again. I wish you could smell the smell when I peel back the plastic wrap: a tasty sour smell. I might have to make bread or something sooner than I had planned because it smells so good. King Arthur has so many recipes on their web site. I should have no trouble picking out something to make first.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A New Living Creature

  1. Vivianne says:

    LOL there was me expecting a pic of a kitten πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. I do this every weekend, I love fresh bread and how it smells. Sunday wouldn’t be the same without it! Good luck πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. I really want to try making sourdough bread (The Management loves it) but I will have to make the starter myself and it is putting me off. Thank you for the recipe link – it might make me reconsider that starter as everything looks delicious!
    Enjoy your bread πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You could try baking bread on your barbeque so you don’t heat up the house!

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    I have never made that before but now I am curious. It sounds really good. Way better than store bought for sure.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    My friend took a sourdough starter class. She loved it. You will too.

    Like

  7. Pat(ricia) says:

    LOL … love the photo caption. Multi-talented you are … cause if there is one thing I just am hopeless at making … it’s bread …. let alone sourdough. I just don’t have it in the hands … the kneading bit … but oh the smell of fresh bread … and sourdough is delicious …. especially when it’s bakery (not grocery) fresh. Yum! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Michelle says:

    Hubby and I keep talking about trying sourdough, but we never quite get around to it. This summer, we got as far as buying an envelope of starter — maybe there’s hope it’ll happen soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

