Good Grief!

I don’t know what I’m doing differently this year. There must be something because the mosquitoes are finding me extra tasty. I am not happy about this at all. The other night I was bitten while in bed. I awoke to find this huge bite on the side of my foot. It is so itchy! It’s driving me crazy. All I can say is it’s a good thing it’s not on my hand and I can still knit. Is there anything I can do to make myself less tasty?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good Grief!

  1. Leslie says:

    I feel your itch, last year and this the varmints have had be for lunch. I can believe how itchy the bites are.

    Like

  2. Lavender essential oil will help with the itch; citronella essential oil should help prevent bits 🙂

    Like

  3. soknitsome says:

    I’ve heard that what you eat affects how much mozzies are drawn to you – but I can’t for the life of me remember what!

    Like

  4. monsteryarns says:

    Try citronella to ward them off and lavender oil to soothe the itch. I sympathise. I’m always mosquito fodder and I always react 😦

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Face it – you are a bug buffet! How about aloe to help the itchiness?

    Like

  6. Chrisknits says:

    I want to say eat lots of garlic, but I am not sure that’s true. But hey, who wouldn’t love to eat loads of garlic bread? They are bad in our neck of the woods too.

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    My husband read running a spoon under hot water and placing it on a bite helps release the proteins that mosquitoes inject into you. These proteins keep the blood from clotting which make you itch.
    You read about our mosquito issue. Maybe invest in the netting and make sure you have no standing water anywhere.

    Like

  8. Pat(ricia) says:

    Ohh I sooo hear ya! I too am fodder for the bugs. Some people are just sweeter to them than others.

    I have tried so many ways, some safe (lavender oil), some not so safe (pure bleach), to stop the itch. I scratch until I bleed and then some. A bite can remain open on me for weeks. No matter what you use, whether it be a good thing or not, if it gets way too bad … try an otc antihistamine, like Benadryl or equivalent. Preferably a non-drowsy formula.

    In some cases, the actual mosquito may be carrying a different strain of whatever and you can have a serious enough reaction that only antihistamines will prevent the swelling from turning into hives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

