Blocking

If there is one place I really fall down in the knitting process* it is with blocking. I can’t tell you how many times I knit something and then just tuck it aside and don’t block it. It just sits until I either get the urge to wear it or decide to give it as a gift. That is why any sort of KAL (knit along) is good for me because it forces me to get through the blocking step. So this is Multnomah, a super fun knit, resting on the blocking board. It is knit with Swan Island natural colors in slate. I am so pleased with the way it turned out. The pattern is well written and easy to follow. The yarn is soft and beautiful. I would use it again.

*Photography is another problem but that is in the blogging process so I won’t get into it too much except to admit that I am a poor photographer and don’t care to be photographed.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in camploopy2013, knits, knitting, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blocking

  1. I confess to being a ‘blocking avoider, too. It would never occur to me not to press sewing as I went so I don’t know why I treat my knitting so badly! I do like your blocking boards though – they appear to be able to be reshaped. Very nice.
    Your Multnomah is beautiful. I must check out that pattern.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Blocking lace is fascinating though…it goes from a unrecognizable blob to something so pretty! But then again there are things I never block…like socks.
    The shawl is wonderful! Hope you enjoy the next one too. 😀

    Like

  3. Renee Anne says:

    I know how you feel about blocking. I finished my Icarus Shawl awhile ago and it still hasn’t been blocked. ::sigh:: I think I’m going to pull out the blocking boards sometime this week and just get it done.

    That shawl is gorgeous and I’m glad you took the time to block it!

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    Another finished project so soon! Gosh I wish I could knit as quickly as you do. I’m always amazed!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I like it!!! It looks much bigger now that it is blocked. You are just flying through the projects! 🙂

    Like

  6. Janet says:

    Beautiful shawl! I really enjoy the reveal that blocking lace provides.

    Like

  7. Helen says:

    beautiful !!!

    Like

  8. Verónica says:

    It looks like the bat signal.

    Like

  9. Beautiful shawl! I was always really sceptical about the necessity of blocking, until I saw what a difference it makes – I’ll never avoid it again!

    PS. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Like

  10. Lisa says:

    Well, that shawl is just lovely, I am so glad you blocked it. I bet it will be gorgeous when it’s dry and over your shoulders.

    Like

  11. monsteryarns says:

    I totally agree – blocking frightens the socks off me! I am half way through a lace wrap which I know I will have to block otherwise no-one will truly appreciate the magic of the pattern. However, I’m DREADING it.
    Beautiful wrap – well done on the blocking : )

    Like

  12. chrisknits says:

    I am great at blocking, want to get it done to wear the item. Photography, not at all. And I used to work in a camera shop and take photos all the time!

    Like

  13. Kepanie says:

    I don’t blame you. There are so many steps in knitting, from gauge prep to knitting the pattern, to weaving in ends, to blocking. Such delayed gratification we have to go through!
    This Multomah is extraordinary. What an awesome sight it is.

    Like

  14. This is very very pretty!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

