In The Yard

We’ve got some really good things going on in the yard. Unfortunately there is something bad too. Something is eating the leaves on the cucumber and cantaloupe. Not the big first leaves, only the regular leaves. We’ve tried a spray to kill whatever bugs are on the leaves but it doesn’t seem to be solving the problem. Any suggestions?

Clematis = good

Iris = very good

Trumpet Vine = good though it’s never flowered

cucumber = very bad

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden, plant, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In The Yard

  1. caityrosey says:

    I was just telling a friend the other day about how I can’t seem to grow anything but weeds. I’m very thankful that my landscaping plants are all the hardy, not-needy kind.

    Lovely iris!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow, sorry to hear about your gardening issues. I wish I knew more about gardening. I think the only thing I can really say is to just keep trying and hoping. Maybe it will go away? 😛

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Your iris photo is stunning! I think you have more good things going on in your yard than bad things and that’s a good thing!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Can you go to your local garden center to find out what may be eating your plants or Google? I’m sure there is some kind of natural deterrent?
    The iris shot is wonderful. So cool to see it so up close and personal.

    Like

  5. Marilyn says:

    Your flowers are wonderful! I can’t grow a clematis. I’ve tried more than once…
    Could it be a bunny or slugs or something other than bugs eating your cukes? Although it does look like a bug problem…

    Like

  6. Pumpkin says:

    The iris is looking so strong and beautiful. I’m sorry to hear about the bug problems, I can barely keep my house plant alive half the time so I can’t offer much help, sorry!

    Like

  7. Some people put soapy water in a spray bottle and go for it. Good luck. You could always plant marigolds around it. That’s what I plants around my tomato plants. There’s something about the smell that drives them away.

    Like

  8. Pat(ricia) says:

    If there is a slimy after-mess on the leaves it’s most likely slugs. If not … it could be caterpillars. Take a close look on the underside and around the plants. If you do sight something and can’t id it, then bag it and take it to your local garden center. They should be able to id it.

    In terms of what to use … well, it depends on the problem. A good start, as someone mentioned, is soapy water … although you’ll have to repeat the application. If you do manage to spot the problem, and the soapy water doesn’t work, you can always go “chemical” … sometimes there is no choice.

    Companion planting works too … as in planting something, like marigolds, around to deter … but you have to watch what you plant because some “deterrent” plants aren’t compatible due to plant chemical release, like pheromones, and will adversely affect the “principle” plants.

    I often plant something, like basil, around my plants that are being munched, as an offering to the bugs. I tell them so … and ask them to devour the offering as opposed to my beauties. I know it sounds crazy … but it does work.

    Good luck with it …. I’m sure you’ll figure out what it is.

    Oh yeah, you can also try crushed, rinsed egg shells around the base of the plants …. if it’s slugs or caterpillars, the shells act as natural razors and the pests won’t want to cross and feed.

    Gorgeous photos btw.

    Like

Leave a Reply

