Patience Pays

H has been asking about making a rain barrel since she moved home from school last year. She found some plans and was casually looking for a barrel of some sort to use.

On Saturday N and I spent the day with my mother. We had to water the flowers at the cemetery, run some errands and of course we planned to have lunch out. In the course of our travels I spotted a large barrel by the side of the road with a “free” sign. I quickly detoured around the block. Imagine my surprise as I pulled up to it. Not only was it a barrel but it was a homemade rain barrel very similar to the one in the plans! I wrestled it into the truck and brought it home. Sunday The Husband spent a bit of time readying a spot for it and getting it all set up, just in time for the rain! H, who’d been away for the weekend, was so surprised when she got home. I wonder if this will encourage her to water the garden?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden, Guilty Pleasures, plant, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Patience Pays

  1. Marilyn says:

    How cool is that!?! And now you’ve got free water for the garden. 🙂

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That was a great find! Maybe H can still build another one…

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    Wow, you certainly picked a good time to find that – we had all that rain, then the heatwave, then the skies opened again. This year, my little one is all about planting in the garden, so I imagine that a rain barrel will be on his list of wants soon.

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    LOL! You go on heaving that thing into your ride and brining it home. What kismet.

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    That is perfect for a rain barrel! It is way cheaper to make one than to buy one. For as simple as they are, they sure go for a lot of money.

    Like

Leave a Reply

