In Which I Nearly Burst Into Tears

The other day I was thinking about all the things I had to do that day: Take N to school, pick up my mother, go to the school for multi-genre fair, grocery shop, put all the food away, pick up N, go to Kumon, get dinner… as I was getting my sweater out of the drawer, immediately I noticed the hole. In. My. Fylingdales. Sweater. WTF! A single stitch was cut/bitten/broken. I held myself together just barely and grabbed another sweater and headed out the door. I did wear the sweater last week to the Memorial Day program at the school but upon returning home I folded it and placed it in the drawer. I check the drawer there is nothing to make a hole. I will have to weave it back somehow, once I know I won’t burst into tears just looking at it.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In Which I Nearly Burst Into Tears

  1. No tears! If you are talented (and patient) enough to knit a sweater then a little hole will be no trouble!

    Like

  2. I feel your pain. Repair the hole – the sweater is worth it.

    Like

  3. Janet says:

    Oh dear, how frustrating. Glad you found the hole while it’s still small.

    Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    Oh, so disappointing…my sympathies. I have no suggestions on how to fix it but you are clever…I’m sure you’ll find a way!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I’d try to cheer you up, but I’m too busy crying…

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    Take a deep breath, you got this. You can do it!!

    Like

  7. Helen says:

    You will be able to repair your sweater, I have total faith in you. I will say, some days are just TOO challenging. We get tired making tears come more easily. The good part is You are a super person we, your followers, have total faith in your repair ability as well as you as a person!! hang-in there I believe we have all been there.

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    You can do it! If it means that much to you (and of course it does– you knitted it!) then fixing it won’t be a problem at all.

    Like

  9. monsteryarns says:

    You could always make a feature of it! I know it’s a bit sacriligous in a lovely jumper but it takes the stress out of trying to make the repair look totally seamless. And decorative darning is really all the rage.

    Like

  10. megan.coker says:

    I have so many moths. get some cedar blocks they really work!

    Like

  11. Pumpkin says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear about this. It is definitely heartbreaking.

    Like

  12. Susan says:

    Oh, that is distressing! At least we are having a heatwave now so you won’t be tempted to wear it, then remember it needs repair. And that gives you time to fix it – I find that when it comes to doing things like that, if I have the luxury of waiting until I feel like doing it, things go so much more smoothly.

    Like

  13. Pat(ricia) says:

    Some days just try our patience …. *sigh* … listen, you should allow yourself the cry …. get it out of your system …. let it go … and then you’ll feel all the better for it. I’m positive that you’ll be able to repair this … you have the skills and knowledge … so … let it all out … and then relax and it will all be okay.

    Like

  14. Kepanie says:

    Oh no! A moth? But it’s fixable tho yeah?

    Like

  15. Beth says:

    Go ahead and cry. The endorphins are worth it. Besides, after you mend this, no one else will notice it; you’ll be the only one who knows it’s there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

