Less Is More

Yesterday The Husband planted the garden. The plants sure looked a lot bigger when they were sitting in the box on the porch. We put in cherry tomatoes, cucumber and cantaloupe. A much smaller assortment than in the past but a very manageable amount. Also these are things we will actually eat and that is a big plus.

While he was out planting he put a half dozen Marigolds around the Clematis. I know they like their feet shaded. I’m hoping these will do OK. Everything else I’ve planted there has been a dismal failure. At least the Clematis does pretty well.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Less Is More

  1. I just love to garden, are you planning on canning or drying anything? It gets me through the long winter just knowing there is something fresh in the cellar!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    I hope your garden does well. We have a couple of tomato plants waiting to be transplanted.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    I bet your plants will be big before you know it! Especially with the black plastic warming their roots up…
    Marigolds will grow almost anywhere…they might be the answer. 🙂

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    A great looking garden!

    Like

  5. iknead2knit says:

    Beautiful garden, bet it gets going soon. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Michelle says:

    I love your little garden! I wish I had outdoor space so I could grow my own vegetables! I tried doing it in the window sill one year, but gardening and gravity make for an interesting and sometimes dangerous combination.

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    Good luck! We are hoping to get a garden going here soon too. Cantaloupes are a fun plant to have 🙂

    Like

  8. Pumpkin says:

    Wow, that will be quite the garden! I applaud the use of raised beds, they are the best. I cannot wait to see what you grow!

    Like

  9. I’d not heard that about marigolds…hope they like their new home! Happy gardening, ~Lisa

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    What a great set up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

