A Childhood Memory

So many things come flooding to my mind when I visit the town that was my home when I was in elementary school. There is a pretty good chance if you’re an American you’ve seen this statue before, probably way back in some history class. It’s the Minuteman statue that stands on the corner of the Lexington Common. See the huge “bowl” at the base of the statue filled with red flowers. When I was young the bowl was often just filled with rain water and one summer someone dumped a bunch of goldfish into the bowl. I don’t remember a lot of details but I do remember how it was the talk of the summer.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Childhood Memory

  1. Marilyn says:

    What a fun memory! The flowers are pretty but it sounds like the goldfish were much more interesting…

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    A great photo and story. I would have loved to see the goldfish. đŸ™‚

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I thought you were going to say that the bowl was filled with yarn….

    Like

  4. iknead2knit says:

    Love the goldfish story! Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    Awww I don’t know which is more adorable, red flowers or goldfish!

    Like

Leave a Reply

