A Random Assortment Of Random

  • I am so tired. Getting out of bed is a serious struggle. The Husband has been oversleeping, regularly. It’s really hard to sleep when he gets up late and curses the entire time he’s getting dressed. Even N is hanging in bed until he’s called. That is so not him. I don’t know why we’re all so tired.
  • There is another month of school. I have been in denial. The last day is June 25. That seems so. far. away. Between now and then there are a bunch of things that require my attention. It’s a struggle. See above.
  • We’ve moved our Knit Night to a local bakery. That is both good and bad. The atmosphere is lovely. Very pretty with the added bonus of beautiful pastries and cakes to look at. Of course I’ve been eating those pastries. They are super tasty but not so good for my girlish figure.
  • At Knit Night last night we sat outside. It was heavenly. Like being at a Paris cafe or something cool like that. I felt like I was in a movie.
  • I have decided to do a minimum of 5 rows on Celestarium every day until it is finished. This will take a chunk of each day but I’ll figure it out. I am so pleased with the way it is coming out. I want it done already.
  • Yesterday was my mother’s birthday so today I am taking her to lunch. We won’t go anywhere fancy but it will be nice to sit and enjoy a meal.
  • My favorite LYS has announced that they are closing. It makes me so sad when things change, particularly things I love. They are where I bought the yarn for my most favorite now worn out cardigan. They are the place where I walk though the door and they say “Hi. There is new sock yarn!” They are in the town that I lived in as a small child and the shop has always been my reason to return for a visit. Walking down the sidewalk makes me feel like I never left.
  • This is the third LYS that is closing or has closed. I thought they said the economy was getting better.
About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures, knits, knitting, Quirky Knitter, whiny, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Random Assortment Of Random

  1. Marilyn says:

    Knitting at a bakery sounds very dangerous!! But it must smell divine…
    Happy Birthday to your mom!
    Wishing you restful sleep…I wish there was a cure/pill for fixing tiredness…

    Like

  2. Pumpkin says:

    I totally feel for you, I’m living in a city of 230,000 people without a single yarn store, the closest decent one is an hour away. I’m also envious of your fantastic knit night group, the bakery sounds pretty great although I can understand the temptation.

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Oh no! I hope you are able to find another great LYS, although I bet none will ever take this one’s place. As for the sleep issues, I am sorry to hear that too…my dad acts just like your husband does! I can’t wait to see the Celestrial, I hope doing 5 rows a day works out for you 🙂

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Happy birthday to your mom! 🙂 Well, considering you were all really sick not that long ago, and are just getting back to somewhat normal, it’s not too surprising that you’re still so tired. Give it a little more time. Yikes! Another MONTH of school – now that IS a reason to want to stay in bed all day! I loved being outside at knit night too – it felt glorious! I always keep my back to the pastry case – if I don’t see it, I’m less tempted, so far it’s worked!

    Like

  5. Pingback: elpalchica's Blog

  6. Pat(ricia) says:

    Would it be inappropriate to send you gentle hugs?

    Seriously … I’m sorry to hear that you’re not feeling up to speed yet … take the time to … well take the time to recoup. And remember … it’s got to be kept in mind, one moment and thing at a time. The days means seem far away, but it (the end of June) will be here sooner than we imagine. Just hang in there and try to find some “you” time.

    I’m really sorry about the lys … sometimes I wonder how it is that we knitters/crochet people even manage to find our supplies. It’s hard to let go of all the wonderful feelings and memories. I hope you can find a way to treasure them and still fill the necessities.

    Happy belated birthday to your Mom. I hope you both had a wonderful meal. LOL … funny this … it was my father’s birthday on the 19th.

    As for knit night in a bakery??? Ohhh… deadly. But if it means a small gentle treat for yourself … then why not on occasion?

    Good luck with Celestrarium … I’m sure you’ll find the time to knit at least a few rows. 🙂

    Like

  7. Pat(ricia) says:

    I forgot to mention … love the picture … I hold great fondness for the much denigrated dandelion 🙂

    Like

  8. Kate says:

    Are you knitting at d’amici in melrose?

    Like

  9. chrisknits says:

    It takes time to recover, don’t push it! Maybe your knitting time can be your therapy? Yeah to new knit place, boo to store closing. I have 2 favs and neither is less than an hour away. I have 1 less fav 30 minutes away and the only one in town is run by someone I will not patronize unless I absolutely have to! Wish I was closer to my favs. Sending you hugs!!!!!

    Like

  10. Susan says:

    I think it’s the weather, honestly. Everyone seems to be sluggish and unmotivated. And that’s horrible news about your LYS. Do you know why they are closing? I have seen a few posts on Ravelry from LYS owners who have gone out of business because of the rent, and some of them are storing their stock temporarily while searching for affordable space.

    Like

  11. Kepanie says:

    I like how you set a goal for your Celestrium. What temptations to knit at a bakery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

