A Lovely Weekend

H was away all weekend at a LARPing thing. The Husband took N to a lacrosse tournament on Saturday. They played 3 games, winning one, tying one and losing one. Then Sunday N had a lacrosse game which they won. I spent much of my time cleaning and baking. I make some yummy cookies but neglected to take photos. They came out kind of ugly though they taste really good.  My real obsession on the weekend was Celestarium.

Remember there is no blue. The shawl is black with a bit of gray.

On Saturday evening I completed the last rows of chart E. I then moved the shawl to a larger needle and added more stitch markers in preparation of the final increase and the start of the final chart. There are now well over 500 stitches on the needle so knitting a row takes a while. I was able to do 5 rows yesterday which doesn’t sound like a lot but is. I’ve also learned a few things. It is way easier to knit a black/gray yarn on a silver needle than on a darker blue needle. A needle with a super smooth join makes sliding the stitches along effortless. I can’t believe how much of a difference this has made. I didn’t even know how much extra work I was doing with the other needle. I wish I had switched sooner. My larger needle is only 24 inches so I could have switches ages ago. Today I have grocery shopping to do but I hope once that is done and put away I can steal an hour or two to knit this afternoon. See, I’m obsessed.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Lovely Weekend

  1. Nancy says:

    Busy! The Celestarium is coming along nicely. I just am finishing up a Creature Comforts Cardigan …no beads…

    Your cookies, sugar cookies, always a favorite

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    It is amazing what a different needle will do. The right needle can make knitting just fly..
    Congrats to N on the games! 😀

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Woo hoo!!!

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    You live and your learn – I am glad you figured out the needle thing ! It made me think about my current project. I bet metal would work better with it then wood…hmmm

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    That is already a lot of stitches! For my scrap blanket (similar shape), I ended up having to use my interchangeables dividing the stitches up onto separate sections of needle cables (with the screw on ends) and just switching the needles every time I reached the end of a section. I’ve tried that recipe twice and ended up with a “grainy” texture for some reason.

    Like

  6. Pat(ricia) says:

    25 000 stitches is a huge amount to knit … especially when charting and beading along! Sometimes I think knitters are the “deviants” of all things wool …. kind of like the insanity of Michelangelo painting the Sistine Chapel ceiling … you have to be a genius but a bit nuts 😉

    Good work … it’s going to be just lovely,

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    Oh boy, 500 sts per row? Knitters can have such patience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

