New Additions

N got an ant farm for Christmas and we have been waiting patiently/procrastinating about ordering the ants. I thought for sure they would take the full 4-6 weeks to arrive but shockingly they arrived quite quickly. I think it was less than 3 weeks! We got the habitat all set up and I dumped the ants in. They seemed somewhat sleepy and bored in the test tube but once they got into the habitat I realized they must have been hungry/thirsty since they all seemed to dive into the gel and start eating/drinking. I’m sure they’ll be a lot of fun to watch and we have set up some really specific rules about not opening the container and such so things should be fine. But honestly they give me the creeps!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Cute and Creepy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Additions

  1. Marilyn says:

    2nd DS had an ant farm. The kind with sand in a plastic box with a farm picture painted on it. It was kinda cool watching them make tunnels in the sand. But they didn’t live very long if I remember correctly. And the replacement ants that he found outside in our yard didn’t live long either… Hope N has fun and better luck than that!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I agree…very creepy. I think it’ll be fun if your careful though. The gel is interesting, I don’t know if I have seen them that way before.

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    This should be interesting; keep up posted.

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You are a brave woman!

    Like

  5. monsteryarns says:

    It’s great having animals of all sorts around the house when you have children. We have cats, dog, snake, stick insects and fish. But then again, we are a bit mad!

    Like

  6. Pumpkin says:

    I had no idea that they could live in a gel environment like that, although I suppose I don’t see why they can’t, in college we raised fruit flies in something similar. Looks like fun!

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    Well, count me in as creeped out yet fascinated by this. Now I’m off to google ant farm and find out what’s up with that green gel.

    Like

  8. Pat(ricia) says:

    Ohh just plain weird … but interesting … ants are so determined and industrious. Like the color of the gel … should be nifty to see what happens.

    Like

  9. Kepanie says:

    What kind of ant farm is that? I have never seen such a thing like that. I always thought they would be in sand and dig tunnels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

