How Are Those Beads Getting On The Shawl?

This is my second ever beaded knitting project. I’m not normally drawn to bling so I never paid attention to any beady stuff. Now I’m knitting a shawl that has nearly 400 beads, each placed on the shawl one by one. The whole thought was daunting. The first project I did, a pair of socks with a bit of beading detail around the leg, was done by pre-stringing the beads which was easy. I then just pulled one up and placed it where I wanted to when I wanted it. The shawl requires a different approach.

When I was at Knit Night last week Teresa and Caroline showed me how to put beads on yarn stitches. It is so easy and so cool that I thought I’d document it here so I can come back and remind myself how to do it should I become a lover of blingy knits. Also maybe I’ll be introducing you to a new method.

Tools: a small piece of beading wire folded in half and a bead

Knit to stitch that will hold bead. Place stitch on wire, remove from needle and slide down.

Thread wire ends through the bead.

Push the bead down onto the stitch.

Return the stitch to the left needle, remove the wire and knit the stitch as you normally would.

This is how the bead will look a few rows later. It sits nicely on the stitch and in the case of my shawl is next to a yarn over.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to How Are Those Beads Getting On The Shawl?

  1. Leslie says:

    Here is a link to Laura Nelkin’s video using super floss:
    http://blog.yarn.com/tuesdays-knitting-tip-how-to-add-a-bead-to-a-knit-stitch/
    I’ve used a bent wire and a crochet hook; I like this method the best.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much, I’ve always wondered how to do that, and now I can’t wait to try ! shawls with beads look so pretty !

    Like

  3. I have always wanted to include beading in my work but never knew how. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Not seen this method before. Looks quite time consuming although putting all tbe beads on befote you start takes a long time too…. Thank you for sharing. Xxxx

    Like

  5. Michelle says:

    That’s nifty! Your shawl is going to be beautiful 🙂

    Like

  6. Andria says:

    That is way incredibly cool. I might just have to give this a try…….

    Like

  7. Marilyn says:

    Looks like this way is probably better than the tiny crochet hook that I’ve been using…thanks! 😀

    Like

  8. Tina says:

    I use a crochet hook for adding beads, it works wonderfully for me 🙂

    Like

  9. iknead2knit says:

    I did not know how to put a bead on a stitch and that’s been keeping me from Celestarium. Now I have no excuse! Thanks for reading, commenting and sharing.

    Like

  10. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Nice photo tutorial! Watch out, you might become addicted to beads and bling! 🙂

    Like

  11. monsteryarns says:

    Goodness! Pretty but you must be really patient!

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    That sounds SO EASY. Thank you for sharing. Now I want to add beads to my knits! argh!!

    Like

  13. Renee Anne says:

    I might be able to handle a shawl with bling if it’s that easy….

    Like

  14. mistyd says:

    Very cool! I didn’t know you could do that – I always thought you would have to pre-string.

    Like

  15. chrisknits says:

    I use the small crochet hook method, but I think yours is more practical. Sometimes it’s hard to get the yarn to stay hooked on the hook. Will have to add wire to my gadget box.

    Like

  16. vivian says:

    That’s a great tutorial. Your Celestarium is coming along beautifully!

    Like

  17. elpalchica says:

    Thank you! This might get me to make my silk lace shawl now! Especially when I know I have you, Teresa and Caroline to fall back on!

    Like

  18. ellen says:

    Wow that is really cool! Thanks for the show and tell. but um, 400 beads sounds so challenging to me! I ‘ll keep watching for your progress and final show. Looks really neat.

    Like

  19. Kepanie says:

    Thanks for the tutorial! I Pinned this post to remind me in the future. A fellow knititng group gal knitted this lace shawl w/1300 beads but oh boy were they worth it as it turned out gorgeous as yours will as well.

    Like

  20. Good tutorial 🙂 I tend to use the crochet hook method when I do beads but yours is a good technique too. Your shawl is going to look amazing when it’s finished 🙂

    Like

  21. Pat(ricia) says:

    Fantastic! Glad that it’s turning out so well. And thanks for the tutorial. It seems so simple … I’ve considered beading but thought it would be a bit too time-consuming and testing of my patience. This technique seems pretty awesome. 🙂

    Like

  22. Pingback: lemon lime follies

  23. Pingback: My Best Most Useful Quality* | NothingButKnit

  24. Pingback: Naknicromo Day 7: Share Your Progress | NothingButKnit

  25. I always wondered how the bead was threaded on, thanks for the info. I might just have to try that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

