A New Plan

I decided that after having a rash of sock accidents in the washing machine I was going to wash my hand knit socks by hand. I used to wash them by hand when there were only a few but now that I have a pile I was taking the lazy way out. Over the weekend I popped all the socks that you saw sitting on the couch on Friday (yes, they were dirty when I took their photo) into the set tub with some Eucalan. They then spent some time on the clothes line or clothes rack in the yard. The whole thing turned out to be a complete success.

I have a few observations:

  • Washing a bunch of socks by hand is work. They have to be swished and squeezed out. In the future I will wash a few pair at a time to make the whole thing less arduous. 
  • A full hamper of wet socks is heavy. Even after squeezing out as much water as possible. See above.
  • A clothes line full of colorful hand knit socks is a think of beauty. I should have taken a photo.
  • They a soft and smell yummy from the Eucalan which I didn’t use when I washed them in the machine.
  • All socks survived intact even the 3 pair of socks that were not knit with super wash yarn.
About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A New Plan

  1. iknead2knit says:

    Handwashing a lot of socks is a pain, but I must not mind too much because no matter how much I reassure myself I’ll keep up and wash just a few at a time, it never happens. Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    It sounds like a really good plan! I’ve had a pair or two felt because of continued use of the washer and dryer.

    Like

  3. chrisknits says:

    I was afraid you were using Fantastik on them!! LOL. How about spinning out the excess water in the machine? Do you have a spin control to limit the spin cycle? In my front load I have three settings of spin, low, med, high. Oh wait, I think I also have Super Sonic because sometimes it sounds like a plane landing!

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    I really need to start handwashing, I just can never find a good block of time to do it in. I love seeing your sink full of socks!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I love your set tub (especially filled with all those beautiful, colorful socks!). I wish I had a sink like that. If you ever have a bunch of socks on the line again, let me know, I’d love to take some photos too! 🙂

    Like

  6. Susan says:

    I don’t have a set tub, so my handknit socks go in the washing machine on the hand wash delicate cycle, then get hung to dry. I usually use Woolite in the machine with them, and we haven’t had any mishaps. Then again, I have a top loading washing machine, which I believe is easier on delicates. I don’t know what I will do if I am forced to get a front loader when this one dies.

    Like

    • Pat(ricia) says:

      Front load washers’ “gentle or hand-wash” cycles are super gentle. In fact, there is less wear and tear on clothes generally from front load washers. I fell in love with mine after having to give up my heavy duty machine years ago … haven’t missed it since. 🙂

      Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    What a sight! I wish you had taken a pic of them on the clothesline. Next time.

    Like

  8. oh! maybe next time you’ll take a picture for us!!! surely you could wash the whole batch together one more time. pretty please! I wash mine in a big bowl one pair at a time on the weekends. It makes me happy to swish them around and admire my knitting on each pair.

    Like

  9. Pat(ricia) says:

    As someone mentioned, if you can spin out using your machine after the hand wash, it is helpful. I have done this in the past and it works well. I’ve even done it using my old machine, which didn’t have options for the spin cycle, and it was just fine. Of course, you just choose what works best for your socks – which are so gorgeous 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

