She Cries Real Tears

Before the tears

When I was a small child I was gifted a Teeny Tiny Tears doll. The selling point of this doll was the fact that when you fed her a bottle of water she would cry “tears”. They neglected to mention in the ad that you had to turn the doll upside down or all the water ran out the hole in her butt. It was disappointing. Anyway, I was thinking of that as I was casting on my Celestarium shawl because I almost cried real tears. To make a long dragged out story that frankly makes me look stupid shorter, lets just say I didn’t go with the tutorial in the pattern. I used Emily Ocker’s circular cast on (youtube link of Kelley Petkun demonstrating). Who is Emily Ocker you ask? A friend of Elizabeth Zimmermann so right there you know I am doing the right thing. I’ve only got a couple of rows done and I don’t even know if this version will stick. You see I didn’t bother to knit a gauge swatch but since it’s such a small piece to start with I figured it could be the swatch. I’m also knitting the pattern with lace weight yarn when it calls for fingering weight. And if I haven’t broken enough of the 10 commandments of knitting I am using size 8/0 beads instead of the 6/0 called for in the pattern. The yarn I’m using is the Misti Alpaca hand paint lace that I picked up at Webs. The color is ceniza aka LP43. It will be interesting to see what happens with this project. If it’s a complete failure I’ve got 3 skeins of gray fingering weight sock yarn in the stash and a bead store less than a mile from my house.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to She Cries Real Tears

  1. Michelle says:

    Good luck! I’m a serious rule follower. I’d feel guilty breaking all those commandments 😉 I have to say though, I love the Misti Alpaca. I have some fingering weight and it’s deliciously soft!

    When I was little my sister had a doll that got a diaper rash. You put these desolving tablets in the bottle of water and when it “peed” what ever was in those tablets made these spots on the babies bottom turn red. It was the weirdest thing to me but my sister loved it!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    This will be a fun project to watch… Circular shawls are so interesting to me but I haven’t tackled one yet…

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I can’t wait to see where this goes. You can do it!

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I just know that you will whip this project into shape and that it will be absolutely beautiful – stick with it!

    Like

  5. monsteryarns says:

    Go for it! What have you got to lose? It’s all good experience. Good luck.

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    I have every faith in your ability to be successful in this endeavor! Believe!!!

    Like

  7. Pat(ricia) says:

    It’s good to see that I’m not the only one who “breaks” knitting commandments quite regularly. Sometimes the best of it happens anyhow. Good luck, happy enjoyable knitting, and be brave – you have the “goods” to make something beautiful out of this 🙂

    Like

  8. Audry says:

    If you find that the shawl is smaller than you like, you can always add a wider edging to the shawl. There is a thread on the Bear Ears ravelry group dedicated to alternate edging on this shawl.

    But if I were knitting this out of laceweight, I would have used size 8/0 beads.

    Like

  9. Kepanie says:

    All I can say is good luck you rebel.

    Like

  10. Nancy says:

    Busy gal you are. Those plates can’t spin by themselves! I am catching up on some of your older posts and adding you to my blog roll this morning.

    That is a neat technique for adding beads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

