4KCBWDAY7: Looking Forward

Day Seven (Sunday April 28th): Looking Forward
One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?

This could be anything from mastering a technique (broomstick lace, entrelac, etc), trying a new yarn or skill, or a long term wish to crochet only from your stash, or knit every stitch in one of the Harmony Guides. Maybe you have no desire or plans for your craft at all, no new element of knitting or crochet that you dream of mastering, in which case write about why that might be. In a year’s time participants will be asked to look back to see if they achieved any goals, no matter how general, and see which house conquered the art of looking forward.

I prefer to keep things really relaxed as far as my knitting is concerned. I want to continue with the activities that connect me to the knitting community such as blogging, Ravelry and Knit Night. I spend most of my knitting time at home where no one really appreciates talking about knitting so when I have opportunity to connect with others who enjoy knitting I relish it.

I’d also like to complete a few works in progress that I’ve been ignoring. I don’t like to feel guilty about my knitting but when I think about the hundreds of dollars of yarn I have tied up in things that are just waiting to be finished guilt does creep in.

I’d also like to cast on a few new projects that stretch my knitting abilities a bit. I would like to knit an epic project like Celestarium. I would like to knit a casual wearable sweater like Topeka. I also want to continue with my effort to knit a lifetime supply of socks.

I also want to get better at handling my time. I tend to lose out on perfectly good knitting time because of laziness or poor planning. I want to find a way to gather up these small chunks of time and use them in a more productive way. At the same time I should get a handle on my stash. While it isn’t huge compared to some other people, it is huge to me. I currently have more yarn than I have ever had and I’m feeling the weight of it. I want to use it up but I want to use it is a way that I am happy with. Finally I want to find balance. My life tends to be spent dealing with the needs of others to the point that other things, important things like cleaning, cooking, knitting and reading are done in a rushed and unpleasing way. If I could find balance in all these things I would be better able to handle the demands placed on me by others and the demands I place on myself.

If you’d like to read more Knit and Crochet Week Day 7 posts please search the tag 4KCBWDAY7 in your favorite search engine.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 4KCBWDAY7, blogging, knitting, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 4KCBWDAY7: Looking Forward

  1. Balance is the holy grail!

    Like

  2. Finding a balance is probably on everyones list!

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Efficient time use is a goal of mine too. Motivation to get certain jobs done is a problem for me though. And I need to organize my WIPs because the closet I store them in is a total disaster. If I could get organization and motivation under control I might have a chance at being efficient… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Shinybees says:

    Totally agree with the efficient use of the little chunks of opportunity in the day. I dread to think how much could be done with those snatched moments!

    Like

  5. Cyprienne says:

    Thank you for an awesome week! I’ve been subscribed for a while, so I’m excited for non-sock projects like Celestarium — you can do it! (p.s. I had meant to comment on yesterday’s Blogging about Blogging post, but it turns out I had too many feelings to adequately capture. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    I wish for you, a year of finding you time. I wish for you, a year of knitting moments that are not stolen from other areas. I wish for you, a happy year of growth when you want it. I wish for you, a year of drawing closer to those who do talk knitting 24/7!!!

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You have a great plan laid out – I think you will do very well at reaching your goals in the coming year. And, ummm, were you referring to me and my yarn stash when you said – “While it isnโ€™t huge compared to some other people” ??? Tee hee! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. Pat(ricia) says:

    Time is of the essence … always. Finding it shouldn’t be that difficult, but it always seems to be. I’m discovering that over-extension for others is the most draining and disastrous battle that needs constant attention. We give too much of ourselves to others, leaving little if anything for ourselves, interests, pursuits, desires and dreams. Trust me … this might lead to a bad end. I’m living proof. But the important thing is to accept yourself and love yourself more … and this means standing up and speaking out. Self acknowledge what’s important to you … and stand by it. Even if it’s tiny steps at first. Prioritize what’s absolutely necessary in daily life, then de-clutter all the b.s. Don’t feel guilty about “you time.”

    LOL … easier said than done, but it’s all about one step at a time. As long as we make the effort.

    I wish you an interesting, exciting, fruitful knitting year and thanks for sharing so much of yourself this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. Alicia says:

    Great goals! I get an awful lot of knitting done in those snatched moments, they usually just have to be very simple projects.

    Like

  10. avantaknits says:

    Celestarium is an awe-inspiring project!

    Worthy goals, indeed. I, too, knit alone most of the time, but we’re organizing a sit-n-knit lunch group in the building where I work.

    Best of luck in the following year! And I’ve added you to my Blog Reader so I can follow along with you.

    Like

  11. Kepanie says:

    Solid goals here.

    Like

  12. Audry says:

    Balance truly is the holy grail.

    As for stash, I destashed a bunch this year and donated yarn (even the good stuff) to an old folks home. They were so happy to play with fun yarn and I stopped feeling the weight of having too much. I think my knitting even sped up!

    Like

  13. Pingback: 5KCBWDAY7: Looking Back, Looking Forward | NothingButKnit

Leave a Reply

