4KCBWDAY6: A Tool To Covet

Day Six (Saturday April 27th): A Tool To Covet
Write about your favourite knitting or crochet (or spinning, etc) tool. It can either be a tool directly involved in your craft (knitting needles or crochet hook) or something that makes your craft more pleasurable – be it a special lamp, or stitch markers. 

Is it an item that you would recommend to others, and if so for which applications/tasks do you think it is most suited. Conversely, do you have a tool/accessory that you regret buying? Why does it not work for you?

The tool I covet isn’t really a tool but a time and a place. I long for my early blogging days back when there were lots and lots of knitting blogs and people blogged differently. I have been blogging since 2004. Things were different back then. There was no Ravelry. Blogs and bloggers were different. There was a lot more talk about the minutia of patterns, sock parts, sleeves and necklines, there were knit alongs with blogs devoted to just one pattern and the group of knitters knitting it. There was the opportunity to get to know someone and have an idea of their personality. People came together when someone needed help with their knitting or in a more personal way. People shared more details of their projects including not just the good but the bad. It makes me a little sad to see someone post a finished object and to have it read “details on Ravelry” or to not read about the project in process at all and only see it once it is a finished successful project. I want to read about all of it not only success. I want to read of failures and learn from them. I have gravitated towards Tami’s WIP Wednesday and FO Friday and Mimi’s Knit and Crochet Blog Week because it gives me an opportunity to find bloggers who want to share their crafting in the blog format. Thank you to the bloggers who do blog and to Tami and Mimi for promoting blogging as a way of sharing our love of crafting.

If you’d like to read more Knit and Crochet Week Day 6 posts please search the tag 4KCBWDAY6 in your favorite search engine.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 4KCBWDAY6, blogging, FOF, knitting, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 4KCBWDAY6: A Tool To Covet

  1. Stel says:

    I do agree…I lke reading about the process, not following to many links. Referring back is something else. I do miss the One A Day blog link, for some reason I just don’t go over to Ravelry to join in the group there.

    Like

    • Pigtails says:

      I too have been blogging since 2004, albeit travel etc but have seen the shift over the years towards the micro blogging and lazy link hopping. I am Ravelry free and even though it is an amazing site, I don’t think I will be going that way. fantastic posting, right up my alley since I also analyse web patterns in a professional and research capacity. Some communities are simply media consumers, other media producers and a few prosumers – I dislike consumer societies intensely. Cheers, thanks for a fabulous posting!

      Like

  2. Watching projects come to fruition – either successfully or an utter failure – encourages me to keep trying new projects. I am trying to take more pictures of the projects I am doing because my 11 year old niece is learning to knit and I think it is good to see the process. I love the blog you shared (a new fav on my reader). Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Ravelry is probably one of the main reasons that people changed their blogging ways. It consolidated all of a project’s info into a simple form to fill out. I hadn’t restarted knitting until later and then it took me awhile to find the knitting blogs….It sounds like I missed something that was very informative and enjoyable!

    Like

  4. Shinybees says:

    What an interesting take on today’s topic. I suppose it depends on why you read blogs in the first place, really. Some food for thought. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Emily says:

    I agree, Ravelry has changed things and I hear a lot of people comment about it basically leading to them abandoning their blogs … what do you think about the new trend of people posting on Facebook instead? I actively avoid Facebook, so that bothers/scares me … I too love to post on Tami’s WIP Wednesdays and FO Fridays, so that helps and I end up seeing so much stuff in progress that way! But I too sometimes feel wistful for the “old days” … I notice it more on the quilting/sewing blogs I read, women who were blogging pioneers. You can tell from how they write about their relationships with each other that they have a private society that is so tight and connected. I’ve never really achieved that in my more than five years of blogging and am jealous! Very thought-provoking post!

    Like

  6. Pat(ricia) says:

    I’ve been blogging for years, although I’ve abandoned all of it, except for my current attempt, for lots of reasons. You’re right, blogging has changed a lot over the years. As someone mentioned, so much depends on what you’re wanting from reading or writing a blog. Personally I find it way more interesting to read about people, their thoughts, and processes, and in this case, their crafting of something. I think some of the more “popular” bloggers are successful because they are able to reach out to people, to connect, which means that they are infusing themselves in their words and online postings. Blogs used to be about sharing just that little bit more than a micro-blurb … and I find that with today’s macro bombardment of all things quick, we are actually MORE disconnected. Thankfully there are people who like you, who are willing to reach for more and share it. 🙂

    Like

  7. iknead2knit says:

    I totally know what you mean about things suddenly being finished. Sometimes I feel like I’ve been knitting the last inch or so of a pattern for weeks, then, it’s like it grew when my back was turned and was finished! Thanks for reading, commenting and sharing!

    Like

  8. Dahle says:

    Interesting post. It gives me a lot to think about as a relatively new blogger. Thanks for visiting my site.

    Like

  9. Natalie says:

    I haven’t been knitting or blogging long enough to comment on the revolution that took place, but I must admit it would be nice if more people chatted about there wips in depth! I have written that behind my ears and will try to take it in to count when I write from now on – thanks for the tip.
    x

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    This is an interesting viewpoint. I had always felt a lot of crafters were too lazy to post details on their project pages.
    I feel more connected with everyone through my blog b/c it’s my voice and my way of sitting down with you and chatting while needles are clicking.

    Like

  11. That’s a very interesting point of view ! I love to read about the making of the piece too, instead of just a pretty picture. I’ve been blogging for about 5 years now, but mainly on my french blog, and about so many different topics, I find it a bit frustrating for everyone; my blog in english is so far only dedicated to yarn crafts, and it does feel different.

    Like

  12. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I missed out on all of that because I only started knitting in 2004/5 – too bad! I’ll definitely check out your blog recommendations, though. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  13. Voie de Vie says:

    I think if one puts out an authentic blog post each time, then a tight-knit community can be formed (no pun intended). I might not want to show WIP photos (for many reasons), but blog readers always get the real me no matter when they show up. I think that shows.

    Like

  14. chrisknits says:

    Agree one hundred percent!!! I rarely click through to read the dets on Rav. But, I am bad in that I rarely provide all the info on my knits. I talk about them, but I don’t always list pattern, needles, etc info. I will say if I changed something, but not go too far in detail about the changes. I miss the early days of knit blogging. I do follow knitters on FB and twitter, but it’s not the same as a blog.

    Like

  15. Michelle says:

    I love to see work in progress posts too, and reading about where other people go wrong really helps me learn. Completely agreed, despite being one of the newer blogging types.

    Like

  16. Lisa says:

    Such a great post. I was blogging during that time, but it does sound nice. I hardly ever click on ravelry links through blogs….

    Like

  17. autumngeisha says:

    Very interesting post! I have been reading knitting blogs for a long time now, longer than I have been blogging. There were so many inspiring blogs before the emergence of ravelry. Sadly, many of them are no longer active. But happily for us, we have so many talented knitters/crocheters who still share their creativity through their awesome blogs. Plus ravelry has many great resources for bringing knitters/crocheters together. I guess I love having the best of both worlds 🙂 I totally agree with you that seeing a project in progress is much more interesting than seeing a random FO out of the blue. That is why I enjoy WIP Wednesday posting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

