4KCBWDAY4: Color Review

Day Four (Thursday April 25th): Colour Review
What are your favourite colours for knitted or crocheted projects. Have a think about what colours you seem to favour when yarn shopping and crafting.

Only after writing this part of your post should you then actually look to see what colours you have used in your projects. Make a quick tally of what colours you have used in your projects over the past year and compare it to the colours you have written about. Compare this, in turn, to the colours that are most dominant in your yarn stash – do they correlate?

Now think back to your house animal – do the colours you have chosen relate to your animal in anyway – if you are in the house of peacock, for example, are your projects often multicoloured and bright?

I have a pretty good handle on what I like as far as color is concerned. For visible clothing I prefer colors that are conservative with blue and gray being my favorites. But for socks I love colors that are bright and unexpected. I love nothing more than to see someone dressed in dark clothes take a step or cross their leg and see a bright flash of color between their pant leg and shoe. I try to do this with my own choices. The above are the last dozen pair of socks I’ve knit for myself. The majority are brighter than what I would chose to wear as a public piece of clothing. I think my stash is a pretty good example of this also. The larger quantities of yarn which are for sweaters are grey, blue, green, or other darker plainer colors. The sock yarn is mainly wilder more daring shades. Overall I think my color choices reflect my personality as well. On the outside I am pretty quiet and conservative. Inside there is something else.

If you’d like to read more Knit and Crochet Week Day 4 posts please search the tag 4KCBWDAY4 in your favorite search engine.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 4KCBWDAY4, blogging, crafty goodness, Guilty Pleasures, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 4KCBWDAY4: Color Review

  1. stitchnpurrl says:

    I’ve just started knitting socks, and there is so much beautiful sock yarn out there, it would be a shame not to use it. Like you, I think seeing someone wearing socks that in contrast to the rest of their clothing shows something of the real them 🙂

    Like

  2. Renee Anne says:

    Ooohhhhh….the Trekking XXL socks on the bottom right. I remember those. I also have socks in the same color (they were my “OMG my feet are swollen from having a baby” socks in the hospital and have always been too big)…and baby socks in that color, too 🙂

    Like

  3. Stel says:

    I love self-patterning yarn, but it never comes out as pretty in crochet as in stocking stitch 😦
    Love your stripey socks.

    Like

  4. Really like those pink and green socks. Mostly, I like neutrals, but I love bright socks to call attention to my work and make me happy.

    Like

  5. Gracey says:

    Look at all those great socks! Love them!

    Like

  6. Vivianne says:

    Time you did some dots/spots – all those stripes 😀

    Like

  7. Marilyn says:

    I love seeing the flash of color too. I’ve caught people studying my feet/ankles while I’m wearing my hand knit socks. 🙂
    It’s good to know the colors you like…that way there are less errors in the stash!

    Like

  8. Hannah says:

    I love your sock gallery, so many colours!

    Like

  9. Shinybees says:

    Oh I like the grey and orange gradient dyed socks. Beautiful!

    Like

  10. donnarossa says:

    I love bright colored socks! when the weather is too warm for wool socks I switch to “Happy Socks” in cotton.

    Like

  11. iknead2knit says:

    Great socks! Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Like

  12. Laura says:

    Your sock gallery is gorgeous! Also neat how you related your colors to your personality 🙂

    Like

  13. pisky Cove says:

    Loving all your socks … secretly funky…loving it!

    Like

  14. chrisknits says:

    So, you’re a vixen in sheep’s clothing? LOL!

    Like

  15. Lisa says:

    LOVE. Did you notice most of those are striped also? I agree that I am very conservative in my garment colors but love brights for socks.

    Like

  16. derring-do says:

    So many lovely pairs of socks!! Love your color choices.

    Like

  17. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I always love seeing your sock yarn choices – I think they describe your personality perfectly! 🙂

    Like

  18. Your socks are awesome!

    Like

  19. I love your socks ! I really want to learn knitting them… I love what you say about knitting more vivid colors for socks !

    Like

  20. Curls & Q says:

    Q – Love your socks! During the fall and winter I tend to wear greys and blues too.

    Like

  21. Kepanie says:

    I love how you’ve made a dozen socks! Your love for blue definitely shows here.

    Like

  22. Liz says:

    Beautiful socks. I love how the colors pop on your black background.

    Like

  23. autumngeisha says:

    I love how you express your wild color style through your socks. These are a great looking bunch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

