4KCBWDAY1: The House Cup

Day One (Monday April 22nd): The House Cup.
A bit like Harry Potter, but not quite, this year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week is split into 4 houses. Don your favourite knitted or crocheted hat and let it guide you to which house you will be in.

  •  The House of Bee: Bees are busy and industrious, but can flit from one interesting project to the next as bright and shiny things capture their interest.
  • The House of Manatee: Manatees are gentle, calm and cuddly. Relaxed and unflashy they represent the comfort and soft side of knitting and crochet.
  • The House of Monkey: Intelligent and with a fun loving side, Monkeys like to be challenged with every project presenting them with something new and interesting.
  • The House of Peacock: Peacocks take something good and make it brilliant. Buttons, embellishments and a bit of sparkle prove that perfection lies in the details – like a Peacock’s Tail.

So choose your house. You may be a combination of more than one of these noble beasts, but think about which house best embodies your qualities and declare your place. You can use one of the graphics above to display your house crest, if you like (though this is totally optional).

Post about your crafting outlook/style and why you chose this house. The descriptions have been purposefully written to seem quite vague, but that’s really because they are only the merest starting point to prompt bloggers to write about in which ways they identify themselves within their craft(s).

Don’t forget to drop by Eskimimi Makes later in the week and vote for which house you chose so we can see which houses crocheters and knitters most identified with.

You could of course decide that you are so unlike any of these creatures in your style of crafting that you set up a rival faction and adopt your own house, though whether you get invited to the end of term disco remains to be seen, you rebel.

I am obviously a combination of a couple of these houses since I tend to flit from project type to project type but I keep coming back to my most favorite thing to knit: socks. I also know I like a challenge so I guess I am then a Mana-Bee-Key with occasional peacock tendencies. I love the comfort of having a sock on the needles but my eye always wanders to sweaters and lace and often times those are the things that require me to learn a new skill or two.

Currently I am wearing all four hats shall we say and knitting Steampunkery socks. These are definitely a challenge and a much more involved sock pattern than I would usually try. As a matter if fact I am currently stuck while I pick up the twist 2 right and twist 2 left skills. But these are not the only new skill. I am also knitting these socks flat instead of in the round which means I am using a chart with “special” stitches on both the wrong side and the right side. All this and some local stress has made this learning curve a bit steep BUT I will get there. Maybe I have a bit of The House of Mule too.

If you’d like to read more Knit and Crochet Week Day 1 posts please search the tag 4KCBWDAY1 in your favorite search engine.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 4KCBWDAY1, blogging, crafty goodness, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 4KCBWDAY1: The House Cup

  1. Natalie says:

    A mana-bee-key sounds like a cool animal 😉

    Like

  2. Vivianne says:

    LOL I like the House of Mule 😀

    Like

  3. “Mana-Bee-Key”, I love it!

    Like

  4. Kate's Twirl says:

    Yay for the House of Mule!! You will get there 🙂

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    That’s pretty awesome. I agree with you on your house, I think it would be hard to pick just one.

    Like

  6. tharensolo says:

    Your socks are lovely! All hail the House of Mule!

    Like

  7. Marilyn says:

    House of Mule! You crack me up! 😀
    Hope YouTube helped you find out how to do the stitches…

    Like

  8. chrisknits says:

    LOL! If I had known there was a mule house I would have chosen it!!!!

    Like

  9. Janet says:

    “House of Mule” made me laugh. 🙂 I think I belong mostly to the House of Bee and visit the Monkeys often. Good luck on your socks.

    Like

  10. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Yes, I think it would be hard to pick just one hat! I think you summed it up best with your mix of hats.

    Like

  11. caityrosey says:

    Hah hah, House of Mule.

    I’ve got more than a little mule in me. Maybe I’m a Mulekey. A Monkule?

    Like

  12. Renee Anne says:

    Those socks to look fun….totally not me but they’re cute. I guess I’m boring or something. I don’t know. Flighty? Yes. Sassy? Never once in my entire life.

    Like

  13. Voie de Vie says:

    I’m definitely right there with you in the House of Mule. 🙂

    Like

  14. pisky Cove says:

    hee hee! I have gone for monkey but can I have a hoof with you in house of mule as well? brill blog!

    Like

  15. autumngeisha says:

    Oooo, love those steampunkery socks! I am not much of a sock knitter but I must add these to the queue because of the adorable button detail. Also love your mana-bee-key reference…very cute. My husband would have totally picked the House of Mule for me 🙂

    Like

  16. Apparently I am a monkbee so sympathise. good luck with the socks. They will be so worth it!

    Like

  17. lottieknits says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t decide on a house! I think I’m just going to make up my own rebel House!

    Lovely socks too 🙂

    Like

  18. Nisse says:

    I like the House of Mule! First I wanted to make up my own house (house of Cat!) but I decided against it because I certainly did not want to risk not being invited to the end of term disco 😉

    Like

  19. Those socks are going to look amazing! I too agree about the mule and the mutant animal mixture LOL

    Like

  20. Great Pattern! Such fun socks and I know someone that would really love a pair! I fit into more than one house too as I bet alot of knitters do.

    Like

  21. I had trouble picking too. Do like your socks, although they sound challenging

    Like

  22. LizH says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Those socks look interesting. I hadn’t thought of House of Mule, but there is definitely some truth there.

    Like

  23. Manakeebee has a nice ring to it. I think my style has aspects from many houses as well.

    Like

  24. Kepanie says:

    Clever you are on that title. I think I’d be House of Manatee.

    Like

  25. Laura says:

    LOL at House of Mule and your socks are lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

