Patriots’ Day

Today is one of those weird holidays. In Massachusetts it is a real holiday. We get to file our taxes tomorrow instead of today. But The Husband has to work. H is off. The Husband works for the federal government and H works for the town. There is no school, but it’s vacation week so that really doesn’t mean anything. The highlight of today for many people in Massachusetts is the Boston Marathon. See I told you, it’s a weird holiday.

Do you want to know something else that’s weird? I’ve put together a few facts and it’s adding up to weird. As I’ve been knitting away on the foot of the second Angee sock I’ve been enjoying it more and more. I’ve gotten to the point that I really don’t want this project to end. Weird I know. I think I finally figured out why I tend to put things down and cast on something else. I don’t want the project to end. I still want the item I’m knitting so I can use it or wear it or whatever but I don’t want the pleasure of knitting it to end. Now I know why so many knitter keep casting things on without finishing stuff. And you know what, I don’t think it’s weird.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, Quirky Knitter, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Patriots’ Day

  1. MidKnit Owl says:

    I think that’s a great explanation! I cast on loads of things without finishing too, and I don’t think it’s weird, just enthusiastic!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Its not weird, I just never thought of it that way. But it does make sense.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You’ve hit the nail on the head! I don’t think it’s weird to cast on a lot of projects. I do, however, think it’s weird to want to run a 26 mile marathon. Your socks look awesome!

    Like

  4. Renee Anne says:

    I start new projects for a very different reason: I’ve gotten bored or need something quick (or lengthy).

    And then I usually start working faster on the project that I want to finish 🙂

    Like

  5. Chrisknitsb says:

    I’m just easily bored so need a new excitement. LOL!

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    If you have an urge to not finish these, just start another pair from the same pattern asap!

    Like

  7. Pumpkin says:

    I wish I could knit socks as quickly as you do! When I lived in Mass I was always so frustrated that we didn’t get the day off from classes. Of course my thoughts go out to Boston, when I go out there next month I hope to help in some way.

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    I don’t understand why innocents have to suffer. Two children are gone already, forced to be angels too soon.
    It’s great how you fell in love with this pattern. That is the best kind of knitting experience one should have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

