A Recent Discovery

I’m going to assume that you are all a lot smarter than I am and that I am the last knitter to make these discoveries. I have recently discovered a couple of really cool places to hang out on Ravelry and by hang out I mean lurk.

The first is the Pattern group. I knew it was there and I had a vague idea what I would find there: patterns, help with patterns, suggestions of great patterns. What I didn’t know about was the *Patterns: Sales, Promo, ISO Destash area. There are so many great patterns released on Ravelry but until they are either knit by lots of people or all my friends start favoriting them I am clueless that they even exist. The best part of this section though are the sales. Did you know that designers put their patterns on sale or offer codes to make them cheap or free? I didn’t until I was poking around.

The other group I recently found is The Testing Pool. Designers list patterns they are looking for people to test knit or crochet and if you are interested you can volunteer. Sometimes the designer offers the finished pattern for free. It really is a nice way to be the first to try the next big thing.

One thing I’ve known about that maybe you don’t is the groups for the area where you live. I belong to The New England Fibah-Heads and the Boston Yarn Party. This is how I hear about fun local events, new shops opening in my area and sadly shops that are closing.

Now tell me, what else am I missing?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, knits, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Recent Discovery

  1. Marilyn says:

    Something that I’ve found interesting on the Pattern tab is “your pattern highlights”. It’s a group of patterns based on what you’ve knit or favorited. It also gives you a look at patterns you might not see otherwise.

    I didn’t know about the Pattern: sales or the Testing Pool. Will be checking those out!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I’ve used the Test Pool before, it’s really nice and helpful. I haven’t heard of that patterns group, but I am heading that way now !! Thanks πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    I’ve heard of these. They sound like they would keep a knitter’s mojo runnin’ and interestin’.

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    I know, there are too many patterns on Ravelry, I frequently stumble on some amazing patterns that are buried for some reason. I’m going to have to take a look at the pattern group, thanks!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Another place to look for events is to click on the “Groups” tab, scroll down and on right hand side look for “Looking for Events?” then click on “events near you.” Or maybe you already know about that one (??).

    Like

Leave a Reply

