It’s A Theme

I went to get some socks off the rack yesterday and discovered another damaged sock. Geez, it’s like someone is trying to freak me out! I liked these a lot. Marlene pattern by Cookie A. I will knit another pair of these damn it. I’m also throwing caution to the wind and knitting all the socks I want. Who cares if I’m a sock hoarder.

My father is still in the hospital. One of the bacteria he has only one oral antibiotic will kill it and unfortunately he is allergic to it so he’s on an IV until they figure out if one other extremely expensive oral antibiotic will work. So for the duration I’ll be taking my mother to visit with him. I do get to sit there and knit so it really isn’t bad.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, whiny. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s A Theme

  1. Marilyn says:

    I wonder what is eating your socks! It’s so tiny, maybe you could darn it…
    Hope your dad is better soon.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Sending good vibes your dad’s way! I love those socks! That’s such a fantastic pattern and the color…oh my…orange is my favorite. I remember seeing those similar socks on Beth’s Ravelry project page. Maybe you should have another knit along and this time I’ll join in!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I hope they figure out how to help your father soon, that’s no fun 😦 As for the socks, can’t you fix them somehow? I know I’d at least try to, I hate to see a good sock down …

    Like

  4. Janet says:

    Poor sock. Can it be mended? Sending healing thoughts for your dad.

    Like

  5. iknead2knit says:

    Positive thoughts for you and your dad. I gave up a long time ago on my sock obsession, they’re my favorite things to knit and I have a drawer full of them. A shame about the Marlene socks, could you repair it? Thanks for the read.

    Like

  6. Michelle says:

    I don’t believe a person can ever have too many pairs of hand knit socks. Knit away! 😀

    Like

  7. Renee Anne says:

    ::sigh:: I suppose giving him the medication he’s allergic to and combining it with allergy medication isn’t an option. I hate when there are allergies to medications, especially when there’s not another medication out there to combat whatever the ailment is. At least the one medication I’m allergic to has an alternative! I hope he gets to feeling better soon.

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    This st pattern is wondrous. Ack! Those pesky little holes. Maybe a moth or carpet bug is hiding as they like wool?
    Sorry the med is not working for your dad. How frustrating. I hope a solution reveals itself soon.

    Like

  9. Stacey says:

    I hate when my socks turn up damaged! So sorry. I always say I’m going to knit more, but it seems like I only have time in the winter for knitting since moving to the farm.

    Like

  10. Pumpkin says:

    So sorry to hear about your father’s condition. I’m pretty sure I know the strain of bacteria that he is fighting, it has been causing huge problems in hospitals across the country. Make sure that he takes any meds they give him faithfully, that is the best thing you can do to help yourself and others by preventing more anti-microbial resistance.

    Like

  11. chrisknits says:

    Prayers for your dad. Hope they can find a solution. Prayers for your socks!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

