WIP Wednesday: Lessons learned

On Monday I was telling you about the yarn I had dug out of the stash for knit night. Well that sock has been my companion for the past couple of days and we are getting along quite well. I’ve grown accustom to the kinkiness and all seems to be going pretty well. I love the way this particular sock is knitting up all stripey but then again you know I am a sucker for stripes. I’m sure the next sock will do something totally different. The yarn is Flat Feet by Conjoined Creations. The pattern is my usual stockinette sock with 64sts but with 2 inches of ribbing at the top.

My other companion of late is George Washington. N is doing a major project (3 months of different assignments gathered into one binder culminating with a presentation given as George Washington) so we’ve all been learning about this interesting man and all his accomplishments.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to head over to Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Lessons learned

  1. tharensolo says:

    Lovely sock! The photo has led me to muse about George Washington’s socks. That would be an interesting component to the project šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I love your socks! So very pretty šŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to try one of those sock flats. I also love George Washington! That whole era appeals to me. Abby recently did a project (not the same scope as your son, she’s only in third grade and it was a short term project) on Abigail Adams. I think I had more fun with her project than she did! A little known fact, Abigail Adams is Abby’s namesake šŸ™‚ Also, those books, the one you show right there in your picture, are fabulous. We have all sorts of them (Abby is going through a non-fiction phase right now specifically concentrating on biographies). Another group of books that we love are the DK publishing books, Biography series. She’s currently reading a book about Albert Einstien. Every time I see this book sitting there all I can think about is “E=MC2” (I tried to figure out how to make the 2 little, like its supposed to be. This iPad keyboard is lacking). Good luck to N on his project, I hope you’ll share some photos of his binder when it’s complete! Abby would love to see it šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Ohh, nice stripes. Cute!
    I’d love to see a picture if N has to dress up as Washington to give his report…. šŸ™‚
    xoxo

    Like

  4. Such an interesting project! Both the socks and the G. Washington… Thanks for your kind comment. šŸ™‚ ~Lisa

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    The sock doesn’t look any different texture-wise than they would if the yarn was not kinked, it looks fantastic! Sounds like you are a little addicted to knitting it too!

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    The sock is gorgeous! I love how it is knitting up. Good luck to N on his big project!! I do agree with tharensolo’s comment – N will need some authentic George Washington era socks to complete his costume – check Ravelry, there must be a pattern out there! šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. very pretty! I hope the next one matches for you!

    Like

  8. Janet says:

    Great progress on your sock. I really do need to try Flat Feet sometime.

    Like

  9. What a nice sock. Love the colour combo, but then I’m a sucker for blue and green. I’m not sure I’d have the patience for all those kinks though !

    Like

  10. Love the colors in that sock!

    Like

  11. Self striping yarn is the best, and those colors are pretty!

    Like

  12. Chrisknitsb says:

    I love those colors!! Makes me want to get out my blue/green combos i talked about the other day. But maybe I should finish stuff before that. LOL

    Like

  13. Jocelyn says:

    It’s amazing what you get done when you have your knitting with you! I took mine to the Dr’s office and the time flew by! I’m a sucker for multi-colorways, love the way your sock is striping up!

    Like

  14. autumngeisha says:

    Love the stripes and colors of the socks. I think that I have learned more about American History by helping my son and nieces with their school projects than I ever did when I was in school. Sounds like a fun project.

    Like

  15. iknead2knit says:

    Love the orderliness of the stripes! Thanks for the read and the comment!

    Like

  16. J. Elliott says:

    What a beautiful colorway! I love the dye job on these socks…

    Like

  17. Kepanie says:

    Yarn striping up is always fun to watch. I like the green and blue together.

    Like

  18. Knitnmom says:

    So pretty! I’ve been wanting to try that type of yarn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

