I <3 Knit Night

You should know I’ve been having a bit of a struggle lately. Normally I am a glass half full person. I have always been that kind of person. A roll with the punches kind of person. A take whatever comes your way and deal with it kind of person. But lately not so much. I’ve been full of self doubt, worry and bitterness. Not really depressed but I do feel put upon and taken advantage of. I don’t want to wallow in these feelings. I have tried my very best to not dwell because dwelling does nothing but take you further inside, further into the darkness and I do not belong there and I don’t even want to visit that place.

So getting out of bed and doing things is very important. Finding interesting things outside myself as distraction is vital. So Knit Night is my therapy. I go very week and sit for two hours with people who share my interests or the car to get there. Everyone talks about whatever and we laugh. We do sometimes feel sad: “Poor Mary, she’s going to miss her Matthew so.” But mostly we laugh and have a good time and don’t deal with the hard stuff.

Photo by me. Mood lighting courtesy of Starbucks.

Now if you can remember way back when Teresa and I started our sweaters I showed you a photo of the tiny start of Teresa’s first (adult size) sweater. Well she has made wonderful progress! Last night it hit me that it was time for another photo. The yarn is Cascade 220 in charcoal. The pattern is the Basic Seamless Crewneck Cardigan. Last night Teresa said she hasn’t felt like knitting, anything. Oh No! Her mojo is missing! Hopefully seeing the original photo and this photo will give her that little push she needs to keep going. We all need that sometimes.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, knits, self improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I <3 Knit Night

  1. Marilyn says:

    Hope the winter goes away soon and your mood lightens! I think it might be winter that is giving you the blues…
    Go Teresa Go! You’ll love your sweater once you finish it. 😀
    xoxo

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I haven’t been to my knit nights in a few weeks now,darn school. Thanks for sharing! I definitely will have to go this week.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I ❤ knit night too!!! 🙂 Karen, thanks for the little knitting nudge, I know I will get back into my knitting mojo soon. I forgot to tell you last night that I saw robins in our yard on Sunday!! A sure sign of spring! Hang in there.

    Like

  4. ellen says:

    Oh I know those struggles and life moments, I am so glad you have your knit night and your pals. Wishing you more FOs and laughter. Happy knitting!

    Like

  5. Alicia says:

    I hope you feel better soon! Glad you have knit night for therapy.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    I’m so glad you have this outlet. Hugs to you. Don’t be afraid to say no. Your mental well-being is important and I have always felt you do what you can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

