Another Freaking Sock

So yesterday I needed something to knit and I needed it quick. I opened the stash box and hunted for something that didn’t have to be wound. I found a skein of Regia patch antik in color 5759. Quickly I cast on 64 stitches and did an inch or so of 1×1 ribbing. Um, don’t like it. It looks loose and the stitches look stretched. I don’t have time for this. I had to be out of the house in 20 minutes and was going to need knitting. I can’t go without knitting! I changed to k3 p1 thinking that some ribbed socks would be nice. But I left the ugly ribbing at the top. As it turned out The Husband arrived home just at the nick of time and I didn’t have to go out and I didn’t need that knitting. So now I’m left with some ribbing I’m not too happy with and a sock started that I’ll work on just because it’s there. Since it is no longer a knitting emergency I have the luxury of time to decide what exactly I want to do with this yarn. Maybe just the k3 p1 ribbing would be nice for a change.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Freaking Sock

  1. Marilyn says:

    If you really dislike how it’s looking is ripping an option? I know I don’t like to do it but sometimes it’s the best way to go…
    xoxo

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I think if you’re not too happy with the ribbing at the top you should change it before you go too far. It will be less painful that way.

    Like

  3. Renee Anne says:

    Oh frog it! It’s not like you knit that much of it 🙂

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    You perfectly described that emergency moment of having no knitting ready to take out.

    Like

  5. Chrisknitsb says:

    I so try to have more than one thing going, but those moments of panic when you don’t have something to suit the event. Terror!!!! LOL I have an Academic Bowl to sit through tomorrow, must be sure I have mindless knitting.

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Well, hmmm i can see the dilemma you are facing. I think you just need to stew it over a few days, maybe rip it out and try something new and unexpected.

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    LOL. I have been in that situation before. Glad it worked out for the better in the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

