The Kitchen

I have whined here about my kitchen pretty regularly. In my opinion it is the worst part of the house but that is probably because I spend so much time there. I thought I’d share some photos and show you what I am trying out. I’ll do my best to have the photos be in order going around the room.

As you can see the room itself is pretty small compared to the way todays houses are built. Every wall has at least one interruption, either a door, window or both. There are minimal cabinets and *sob* no dishwasher. Today I moved the refrigerator from it’s previous location (where the table is in the first photo) to it’s new location (where the table used to be). It partly blocks the frame around the window but it does make the kitchen seem bigger. Also I can now get in front of the sink without having part of my butt and back pressed up against the refrigerator.

So the plan is to call a couple of contractors and get prices for the kitchen and bathroom. We want to get the things we want, ie, more cabinets, a dishwasher, a low profile refrigerator, new counters and backsplash and new floor for the kitchen. For the bathroom new toilet, sink, tile and floor.We’d also like to remove the window that is in the tub (yes, a full size window right in the middle of the wall) and replace it with glass bricks or something that lets light in but can’t be seen through and refinish the tub.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Kitchen

  1. elpalchica says:

    I love that you moved the fridge. It seems to really open it up.
    Often making a minor change really helps to give the impetus to make a really big change and gives you an eye for all the other things you want to improve. A great first step!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Is there a door in your kitchen that you could get rid of? That would give you more options for placing your cabinets and appliances. Another idea that would involve having siding to match your house but if you could make the window by the fridge shorter you could possibly add some cabinets on that wall.
    The contractors you talk to will have better ideas than me…I’ve just been watching too much DIY and HGTV!! 😉
    xoxo

    Like

  3. Chrisknitsb says:

    I love old houses, but hate the kitchens. I have been blessed to have kitchens with full cabinets and islands, plus the dining area. But understand your space limitations. Our family condo in Florida had a galley style kitchen that would only fit 1 person. If you opened the dishwasher, you couldn’t open the stove or the fridge. But we put up with it, cause we were on vacation!!!

    Like

  4. Renee Anne says:

    I love older houses and you would have thought they would have more room in kitchens because people spent more time in there. Alas, this isn’t the case. The kitchen in our new house isn’t particularly large but it was 100% updated so there are more cabinets, a space for the fridge, stove, dishwasher, etc. We don’t have a lot in the way of cabinetry, though. We hope to remedy that with some pantry storage in the garage.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    That really is a small kitchen, I am sorry you have to deal with it. I hope it all works out for you !

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Moving the fridge was a good idea! It is a charming space and I’m sure the contractor/designer will have some great ideas (especially since there are a lot of older houses in this area, they are used to dealing with small spaces). Have fun!

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    I have no clue, but I’m sure the contractors will have considerable knowledge when you get your estimates.

    Like

  8. Pingback: A Solution To Part Of The Problem | NothingButKnit

Leave a Reply

