WIP Wednesday: Doldrums

My favorite definition for doldrums is unhappy listlessness. I have that. I know it’s just February getting me down. I need a little warmth and sunshine in my life. The snow and socks aren’t doing it for me. I’ll have to try to see the good in things.

IMG_1532We had another little bit of snow. I am tired of cold and snow and all that winter stuff. This morning I awoke to another heavy dusting of snow. It’s another gray day. Blah. See the faint line of foot prints on the left side of the photo. It’s a bunny traveling through. That’s a bit of a hopeful sign.

IMG_1531I spent some time yesterday working on the sock. I got a few uninterrupted hours and hope to find a few more today to get this final bit done. I really have enjoyed knitting this pattern. It goes along quickly and looks really nice with the yarn. The pattern is Red Vine/Blackjack by Rachel M. Blaine. The yarn is Premier Yarns Serenity Sock in lavender.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

*Sorry about the photos. I couldn’t get them to edit correctly so I had to use them as they were.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Doldrums

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m sick of the winter too, I really want spring to just be here! But the socks are looking great as always 🙂

    Like

  2. I wish we would get at least one more snow before winter fades to spring, but I hear you and have to say I like your definition of the doldrums. Hope you get in those knitting hours today! Nothing like a finished project to cheer one up. 🙂

    Like

  3. terra says:

    Yes, the winter can go … I like your socks. 😀 Lovely pattern. This morning we had some sunshine. Have a better week. Greetings from Germany. Sabine.

    Like

  4. Natalie says:

    Hope you feel a little brighter soon, your socks look great 🙂
    x

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That was nice that the bunny visited your yard. This morning I heard a bird singing and it reminded me of how long it’s been since I’ve heard any birds – so spring can’t be too far off, can it??? But then, there’s that big snowstorm coming on Friday – make sure you stock up on yarn and other essentials. 😉

    Like

  6. jazzoo6j says:

    Nice socks! Love the color.

    Here’s my WIP: http://mibruno.com/en-proceso-75/

    Like

  7. cleancup says:

    Grey winter days can certainly get a girl down. Maybe knit something day-glo bright next? I find it hard to be in a low mood whilst knitting eye-searingly bright socks…

    Like

  8. Chrisknitsb says:

    I am so glad we haven’t had much snow this year. We are not known for heavy snowfall, but some years we get a lot. Right now I wish for sunny days, whether warm or not. Go socks!!

    Like

  9. autumngeisha says:

    February is probably my least favorite month of the year. If it wasn’t for knitting, I don’t know what I would do! Eat lots of junk food, probably 🙂 Your socks are looking great.

    Like

  10. Keep calm and cast on!

    Like

  11. Kepanie says:

    You know how some tank animals need that heat lamp? You need a super sized one right by your house. Knit more socks to make you happy and pick some sunny yarn.

    Like

  12. Emily says:

    You’re sooo close to being done! I’d say cast on for something new, but I know that sometimes you just have to wait for that mojo to come back …

    Like

  13. Marilyn says:

    Don’t apologize for the pictures. There is no way to get a good photo in the winter…its just too grey outside…
    I hope spring comes early for you. Winter does get to be a drag.
    xoxo

    Like

  14. I’m about sick of winter too. But those pretty socks will keep you warm! I love the color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

