Crack Cookies

As I’m sure you know there are chocolate people and vanilla people. When given a choice I always pick chocolate be it cookies, ice cream or candy. But there is something about these plain vanilla cookies. I can not stop eating them. Once I eat one I can not stop. They are crack. The cookies are light, delicate and delicious. My mother got the recipe from a neighbor when I was a child. A few times a year she makes them, usually at Christmas or Valentines Day since she has cute cookie cutters for those holidays. I particularly enjoy these cookies when they are quite browned. I hope you enjoy them too. Just be warned: Once you have one you will want more.

Roll Out Sugar Cookies

1 1/2 c. sifted confectioners sugar

1 c. butter

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

2 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cream of tarter

1/2 tsp. almond flavor (optional)

 

Cream sugar and butter. Mix in egg and flavorings. Stir dry ingredients together. Blend into sugar mixture. Refrigerate 2-3 hours. Heat oven to 375. Roll out and cut. Bake about 7 minutes.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crack Cookies

  1. Lisa says:

    Sounds great! I am so glad you shared, and enjoy these so much πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Chrisknitsb says:

    And I am sure they are double crack when using my fav sugar cookie icing with cream cheese in it. Thanks a lot! You are not helping my waist line!

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    Those are Mary’s Sugar Cookies from Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book. Those are the only sugar cookies we make in my family. My mom has the original 1963 cookbook and I have a 2002 reprint of it that I treasure immensely. I highly recommend the whole book.

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Y-U-M! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    Cookies are always good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

