WIP Wednesday: I’ve Been A Slacker

I adjusted the color in the photo to look more correct on my monitor. I hope it looks more correct on yours.

I am a lazy knitter. I don’t like to think when I knit. I like to just do it. This is wrong. I am wasting valuable brain here. Really I should be stretching my skills, learning new stuff, trying new things and just plain thinking. So I decided to cast on something that isn’t a mindless sock, but is still a sock because I don’t want to go too far over the edge just starting out. I looked through my favorites on Ravelry trying to find something I really wanted to knit that went well with the yarn I planned to use. See, I went to Joann’s and they were having a sale on yarn. I rescued some unloved sock yarn without labels in lovely shades of purple and gray. It’s Premier yarn Serenity sock weight in lavender I think. So as I was going through my favorites I found a pattern I had favorited Nov 26, 2008 and decided that now was the time to cast it on. The pattern is Red Vine/Blackjack by Rachel M. Blaine. I am mixing and matching the patterns by doing the ribbing for the Blackjack and the pattern for the Red Vine. Why has it taken me so long to do this pattern? I know I love it just as much today as I did way back when I first saw it. I am happily knitting along on the first sock cuff and each and every time I put it down I can’t wait to get back to it again. I’ll see you later. I’ve got to get back to my knitting.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIP Wednesday: I’ve Been A Slacker

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I think that is the most beautiful sock I’ve ever seen! I’m glad you found the perfect yarn to use for the pattern that you’ve wanted to try for so long. And even better that the yarn was on sale!

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Wow, that sock is gorgeous! I love the combination of purple and grey, very nice! And the pattern – beautiful.
    x

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Oohh…I like that pattern too. And you can’t beat yarn on sale. These socks will be winners all around. 😀

    Like

  4. Pretty sock. I find I prefer mindless knitting when my mind is occupied elsewhere, and then I crave challenging knitting when I’m bored. I think you just have to go with what feels right. You’ve got a gorgeous start to a sock there!

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    That is a lovely pattern. I get where you are coming from though. I am the same way with my mom’s gift. I like working on it and I get into the groove once I start, but starting is always an issue….

    Like

  6. Andria says:

    I go through phases with knitting, where I either want to learn and grow or just stay in the same place and mindlessly knit. I love your sock pattern, it is going to be awesome!

    Like

  7. tinkhickman says:

    Gorgeous colour, love the pattern. Deb x

    Like

  8. Susan says:

    I love it, too. When I clicked through to Ravelry, I was surprised to see that it’s just an illusion – I thought that if knit with self-striping yarns, the stripes would swirl around, but they stay straight. It’s on my list now.

    Like

  9. Pumpkin says:

    Oh that looks like the perfect pattern according to your specifics. These are going to be pretty and you saved on the yarn, hooray!

    Like

  10. Michelle says:

    Oh, you should just knit what you feel like knitting. I’m certain it’s not a waste of brain activity to knit something simple. 😀 Still this pattern looks beautiful and the yarn highlights the stitches nicely.

    Like

  11. chrisknits says:

    Very pretty! Love the subtle colors. And you did a good thing, rescuing the poor sock yarn.

    Like

  12. sandy says:

    Love the look, both texture and color; and congrats on using your brain. I enjoy the mindless knitting and or crocheting…sometimes you want to relax. I’ve got to gear up though. Late here with my Love your Library Post.

    Like

  13. Cris says:

    Oh this sock is VERY pretty!

    As for mindless knitting versus really having to think through it – all my knitting right now is thought provoking simply because I’m novice 🙂

    Like

  14. Kepanie says:

    Cool sock! I’ll have to try that pattern one day. I like how a variegated yarn can be used for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

