I Knew It Was Coming

but still I am unhappy about it. I’ve been wearing this cardigan for years. It predates Ravelry. I’m sure if I went on a treasure hunt I could find it on the blog somewhere near the beginning. It’s been my favorite sweater forever. It’s oversized and broken in, evidently really broken in. I wear it almost all the time when it’s the least bit cold. Sadly the yarn in the bind off has let go. As I said I knew it was coming. There are many places where the yarn is looking a little thin, like all the buttonholes and the bottom ribbing. Now I have to decide just how I’m going to deal with it. I do love the sweater so I should fix it but do I want to rip out the last couple of rows and reknit and bind off with weak yarn? Should I just patch in a piece of something else that goes well enough and call it good until another place lets go? I don’t think I have any more of this yarn unless it is buried very deeply in the stash. Should I just stuff it in the drawer and finish the purple cardigan and hope I love it as well? What to do. What to do.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Knew It Was Coming

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sounds like you have lots of options. You could maybe crochet around the buttonholes to reinforce. It’s hard to give up something that you love so much or replace it with something else…
    xoxo

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I like Marilyn’s idea (although I have no idea how to achieve it!). But it could make the fix look like a design element, especially if you did it in a contrasting color. I don’t think you should completely give up on it, though. Good luck!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I would probably think of a way to fix it if that was me. But the real question is how much work you want to put into it when you have other things you could be working on also. So… if you think it’s worth it I say do it, but if you know you are going to have to keep patching other areas also, than maybe it’s time for retirement.

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Marilyn had a great idea. Also, it flashed in my mind that if you were inclined to redo the BO, another color for a pop of color could be done?

    Like

  5. elpalchica says:

    I agree with everyone else. Crochet edge leapt to my mind. I would do a pop of color like Teresa said. Pink came to mind first but that’s not very you. A light blue?

    Like

  6. Pumpkin says:

    That is one of the most depressing things I’ve seen this week. I sympathize.

    Like

  7. chrisknits says:

    Let it go. It lived a wonderful life, but now is the time to lay it to rest. LOL. KNit a new one with the same pattern and a soft yarn you love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

