WIP Wednesday: Almost

I love knitting these socks. There is something about stripes. I am obsessed. I know they won’t be perfect but they almost are. They almost match, just a couple of rows off at the top, but I did split for the heel in the same place and I plan to start the toe in the same place. I figured on my feet it wouldn’t be noticeable that one is a couple of rows short. I hated to waste a bunch of yarn when I knew it would be so close. The yarn is Biscotte & Cie in Hallucination A and the pattern is my standard one with afterthought heels to keep the stripes all nice and neat. The other thing I love about these socks is that they are almost done. I just have one toe and two heels, which when you’re talking afterthought heels is really just a couple more toes so in three toes I’ll be done. I doubt I’ll have them completed by Friday unless I can find some bonus knitting time.

Yesterday I experienced a first. When I was waiting for N at an after school activity someone commenting on my knitting (the above socks). She gushed a bit about how beautiful they were and how soft they felt and then she  said “You should sell them.” I said thank you while she gushed and then said I didn’t think anyone would buy the socks because of the price I would have to charge. I said the yarn was $30 so I’d have to charge at least $100. I could see the wheels turning as she said “I suppose”. I quickly said that I would only bother to make them for myself.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

FYI: First WordPress changed their photo thing and now Photobucket has changed theirs. If the photos look wonky it’s because I’m still figuring things out.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Almost

  1. Cookie says:

    Love them! Love a matchy-matchy pair of socks.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    The socks and the stripes are perfect! Love them. 😀
    The “you should sell them” lady was probably thinking about how you can get 6 pair of socks at walmart for a few dollars. 😉
    xoxo
    P.S. Must be the time of year for changes in blogland…Blogger changed their whole system too and getting a picture posted is a real challenge now. /sigh

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    I’m still loving those stripes 🙂

    For me to knit socks for money, I’d have to charge £500 just to motivate me – I only like making them for myself!

    Like

  4. Faith says:

    So pretty! I love how little people think we should charge for knitting. Good on you for reminding her it was a handmade item.

    Like

  5. Macca says:

    Someone said on Twitter a while ago that whenever anyone comments on their knitting in public, knitters will ask “what are you making?” and non-knitters will ask if/say you should sell. It’s totally true in my experience too. Countless non-knitters have said something along the lines of, “if you sold, you could make money!” and I just sit/stand there and roll my eyes, but the only actual knitter who stopped me in public asked, “what are you making?” and mused that she should have brought hers along too, no comments about how I could sell it. 😛

    Like

  6. Pumpkin says:

    I actually don’t think I would have noticed the slight mismatch if you hadn’t of pointed it out to me. Other than that they look just perfect! I’ve actually never been asked about selling knits before, although people do frequently ask what I’m making. Don’t you love that look of awe?

    Like

  7. They’re amazing! And anyone who gets close enough to compare the number of rows per stripe in your socks better be buying you yarn. Just sayin’ The heels and toe will be done in a flash, enjoy!

    Like

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Your socks are so cheerful looking AND they’re almost finished – yea! That lady is probably still trying to wrap her head around the fact that the yarn alone cost $30, much less the cost of your time to make them! Next time she sees you, she’ll be thinking to herself “There goes the lady who wears $100 socks….” 😉

    Like

  9. Janet says:

    Your socks look terrific. I love the colors and the stripes. I seem to knit striped socks much faster. I think I keep knitting “one more round” just to see the next color come up.

    Like

  10. Susan says:

    I think that we in the USA are spoiled by imported handknits. I’m not sure what people think when they see an imported sweater that is only $200 and “handknitted”. I have a feeling they think that there are Irish or English ladies sitting in a drawing room, drinking tea while they knit those sweaters. I doubt they are picturing people in third world countries who get paid a small fraction of that $200. It doesn’t mean the knitting is any better or any worse, just that handwork can’t be fairly compensated at first world rates.

    On the other hand, I think my husband feels it’s worth the price of yarn to keep my hands (and sometimes my head and mouth) occupied so he can have some peace, lol!

    Like

  11. I love them — I love stripes, particularly striped socks!

    Like

  12. I love these! I’m sure you shocked that poor woman, but it was a good dosage of reality!

    Like

  13. Kepanie says:

    THese are so fun, Karen. I think of eating juicy watermelon in blue Jean shorts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

