It Isn’t Very Pretty

Like everyone else I’ve got a few days in the week where preparing a proper meal is next to impossible. There just isn’t time. We have been trying to get out of the take-out every other night habit and with a little planning ahead it has worked pretty well. Yesterday I was home for a few hours midday and was able to throw together Cabbage Roll Casserole. I am a big fan of dump everything in one place, cook and eat meals. I know not everyone is but it is a great way to sneak in things like brown rice and extra veggies without fussy eaters catching on. This one is a little more involved but it wasn’t too bad. I did change a few things and I would change a few more the next time I make it. First I used leftover homemade tomato sauce. I had about 2 cups in the freezer and I think the flavor is so much better than the stuff out of the jar. I made up the different with addition beef broth and water. I wouldn’t do that again. I think I would skip the beef broth all together and just use mostly tomato sauce and enough water to thin it. I also added extra cabbage. I had gotten a very large head in the CSA box from Liz and I didn’t want to waste it. And yes, I used brown rice. There is something about brown rice I prefer to white. No one in the household agrees with me so I just bury it with other flavors and they are none the wiser. I would make this again though I don’t know if I could get everyone to eat it again. I’d make the changes with the tomato sauce and leave out the beef broth but I’d have to do something to get that one super fussy eater to give it another try. A layer of melty cheese on top might work.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It Isn’t Very Pretty

  1. Marilyn says:

    Looks pretty good to me! Cheese… Cheese makes everything taste better… And hides a lot of ingredients too. 😉
    xoxo

    Like

  2. Pumpkin says:

    I hope that none of the picky eaters read your blog because your game could be up! That looks super yummy to me, especially with brown rice.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I like one pot meals too – especially leftovers! Yes, try some cheese for your picky eater – you can never go wrong with cheese!

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    Despite your problems, it sounds really yummy 🙂

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    That looks like comfort food, great for a cold evening.
    I’m anal like my dad and must make a grocery list every week. I peruse my Pinterest boards for inspiration and choose recipes for the seven days. I need to DIY a chalkboard for the kitchen so I can write the menu down to keep me on track.

    Like

Leave a Reply

