How Do You Ravelry?

I know I don’t use Ravelry as well or as much as I should. It’s a fantastic resource and I feel like I’m missing out. Currently I favorite the things I like and tag them with what they are and I favorite things made by my friends. I have tried putting in some stash but really haven’t stuck with it. I read a few forums but mostly skim a few more even though I belong to a bunch of groups. I do use the messaging to contact people. I also research patterns and yarns when I’m looking for a new project or thinking about buying some new to me yarn.ย In my travels through the random links I’ve followed I have found some really organized people who organize everything with tags. Maybe I’ll be like that when I grow up but for right now I just want to see if I’m missing out on anything.

So tell me how do you Ravelry? Please tell me about listing your stash or using the queue or anything else you think might be helpful. What is your favorite Ravelry thing?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How Do You Ravelry?

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sounds like we use Ravelry mostly the same way. I use the queue as a way to keep track of patterns I’m interested in but not necessarily going to knit. I tried the stash listing but my stash is quite lame and I didn’t see the point of listing something so small…
    The thing I like best about Ravelry is keeping track of my projects and so I fill out all the info as completely as possible and get a couple good pictures of everything…

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I use it the same, mostly to research patterns. I never got into the groups or forums…I find them hard to follow. I joined groups when I first started Ravelry but haven’t checked in to them in years. I wish I could be more organized too. I have many projects that need to be posted. By the looks of my project page people would assume I hardly knit…which is totally not the case!! I couldn’t even begin to imagine uploading the stash…that would take months or years! It’s such a disorganized mess! But that’s on my “things to get done in the new year” list….organize the stash. Once it’s organized I might consider adding it to Ravelry…..

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    I mostly research patterns and yarns on Ravelry. I have a hard time keeping up with projects and groups, though I always say I will do better. I went on a real housecleaning kick on Ravelry last week and seriously adjusted my queue. I’ve also been overcome recently by an urge to add my stash, though the idea of photographing it all is a bit of an insurmountable hurdle.

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    I use Ravelry mostly for the pattern search. I love being able to find such a comprehensive list of patterns. I also put my projects on there, although I don’t update them often. I used to use the forums all the time, but I have gotten away from that a bit since I have gotten busy. I think my primary use is definitely finding patterns.

    Like

  5. Renee Anne says:

    I’ve been working on putting my stash into the database, as well as my books, needles, and such. I love some of the forums and visit them often. I probably don’t use the “Favorites” section as well as I should and my queue is a little out of control. But it is what you make of it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    I use it to document my projects, research patterns, and to queue things I want to make. I rarely favorite things, belong to few groups, don’t do forums, and generally stay off of it as much as I can. The more time spent there, the less time knitting and living life.

    Like

  7. kathyiniowa says:

    I think I use it pretty much the same as you do, with perhaps a couple of exceptions. I am pretty good (or have been in the past anyway) to document my handspun yarns…..details as to how it was spun, what ratio I used, that sort of thing. In the same manner, I use my project page as kind of a resource….listing details so that if I want to duplicate a certain project, (socks for my son as an example)…..I can look up and see how many stitches I used, size needles, etc. I think any online site can just suck hours and hours out of your day, so I try to keep it under control, for the most part, Try being the key word in that sentence.

    Like

  8. Pumpkin says:

    I have times where I’m on Ravelry for hours at a time and other times where I won’t log on for days. I suppose it depends on how much I’m knitting. You obviously get a lot of use out of it!

    Like

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Since I sometimes (ok, often!) buy yarn without a specific pattern in mind, I enjoy trying to find the perfect pattern to use with it, and also seeing what other people have made with the same yarn. I look up events to see if there’s anything I might be interested in attending. I sometimes scan the forums to find out about yarn sales, classes, etc. I’ve learned about new-to-me techniques, new knitting books and I know if I ever have a knitting question or dilemma, some kind knitter out there will be there to help! It’s a great resource even if I do spend way too much time there! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    Oh boy, I’m on there every day I’m afraid. I peruse patterns to fave and Pin until I reach what I’ve seen before. I follow certain threads in my groups and comment on ppl’s projects. I have the bulk of my stash listed in my notebook but I want to do it again b/c I took pics of a yarn by company and type so there’s a bunch of colors in one picture rather than categorize as well by color.

    Like

  11. Kepanie says:

    Oh, and this year, I’ve started to queue slated projects for this year, keeping on track with my goal of knitting from the stash.

    Like

  12. anastasiamw says:

    I love Ravelry. I don’t use it so much to keep up with my stash or to queue projects, like some. I use it more to fuel my inspiration and aspiration. My favorites section is filled with projects I’d like to knit someday or I like parts of and would use in other projects (like collars on certain sweaters or certain colorwork or cable patterns). I’ll often go there and just browse through either the projects or patterns just to see what’s out there. It’s oftentimes (at least for me) much more pleasant than Facebook.

    And it’s a great way to keep up with all the projects I’ve worked on, frogged, or am working on. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

