Recipe Request

Is this ripe?

Thanks to Liz who was kind enough to swap house sitting for her CSA box (Thanks Liz!) I now have an avocado and The Husband would like guacamole. I am at a loss here since I have never even tasted guacamole. I could just go search out something on allrecipes but I’d really rather have someone recommend a recipe that is delicious. Can you point me towards a good one? Thanks!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recipe Request

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sorry! Would love to help but have never made guacamole. Hope someone has an answer for you!
    xoxo

    Like

  2. Myriam says:

    Wendyknits has a nice simple recipe on her blog that i have used a few times and really like and rachel ray has a great one too called garlicky holy guacamole!.

    Like

  3. Myriam says:

    For wendys just search wendyknits guacamole it pops right up. Good luck!

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Sorry – I am not a big fan of guacamole. Good luck!

    Like

  5. elpalchica says:

    Guacamole, garlic, cilantro ( ground coriander if no fresh cilantro), salt, pepper, lime juice. Keep tasting. Might need about half a lime, good amount of garlic salt and pepper… Just keep tasting. Yum!

    Like

  6. kemtee says:

    I mince half a red onion, two plum tomatoes, and a clove of garlic, and add it to two mashed avocados. Add to that about a half-teaspoon of salt, and equal amounts of cumin and chili powder. I also add about a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and the juice of a lime (keeps it from turning brown as quickly). If I happen to have cilantro I’ll chop some up and toss it it, but since I rarely have it, I don’t miss it. Let it sit for a bit before eating but cover it well with plastic wrap (as in, have the plastic sitting on the surface of the guac to prevent oxidation). Enjoy!

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    Avocado, some diced tomato, diced onion (red), cilantro, lime juice. That’s my husband’s secret recipe. Last month I broiled avocado halves with lime juice, chipotle Cholula sauce, and fresh grated parmesan cheese on them, and they were a super delicious snack – also healthy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

