Christmas Breakfast

I can’t believe I remembered to grab a quick photo!

Over the years I’ve struggled with what to cook for breakfast on Christmas. We’ve had everything from donuts to oatmeal but insuring that there is something that everyone will eat is difficult. A few weeks ago I hit upon the idea of cinnamon rolls. I’ve made them before but have never been as happy with them as I would have liked. On Ravelry of all places I found some great reviews for this recipe. I made up a few batches before Christmas in order to tweak the recipe to my liking. They were good but they didn’t have the flavor complexity I wanted so I extended the rise time, doing it in the refrigerator, and then I extended it again. To get the best flavor I let the first rise last 24 hours in the refrigerator and then a couple of hours on the counter to warm up the dough. I then formed the cinnamons rolls, placed them in the pan and put them back into the refrigerator for another 24 hours. Before baking they had another few hours on the counter while we got another hours sleep, waited for guests and then opened gifts. The flavor and consistency were exactly what I wanted. They were moist and chewy with great cinnamon flavor and just the right sweetness from the brown sugar and the cream cheese frosting. They are the cinnamon rolls at the top of my make again list.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Breakfast

  1. Renee Anne says:

    Did you somehow wind up with seven trays and have to give a bunch away? Was that you?

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    YUM!!!!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a lot of work, but also sounds amazing!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    These look good, so much healthier than the store ones.

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    I don’t know who wouldn’t love cinnamon rolls, I haven’t met that person yet. Making them is difficult, but if you find the right recipe and a little bit of patience, they are totally worth it! I’m glad that you were able to get a photo!

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    The rolls look absolutely yummy!
    I hope you had a fun and happy Christmas! And I hope your New Year is wonderful too…. 😀
    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

