How To Get What You Want

Or why I buy my own gift in December. There isn’t a nice way to tell this story so just remember this comes from a lifetime of experience. When your birthday is in December like mine is you learn to deal with things that people whose birthday is in other months don’t have to deal with. I have received more gifts than I can count wrapped in Christmas paper or a Christmas gift where the tag has been altered to say “And Happy Birthday too”. Yes, December babies tend to be slighted their entire life!

To get around the disappointment that is a birthday when everyone else is focused on “The Holidays” I have taken to getting myself an indulgence that I would normally deny myself at other times of the year. In the past I’ve bought an expensive box of cookies from William Sonoma or a nice hardcover knitting book. The last couple of years it’s been yarn. Normally I try very hard to support the many LYSs in my area. We are really lucky here to have so many stores and I want them to stay in business. But they don’t carry everything. So this years indulgence involved a bit of online shopping at The Loopy Ewe. I decided on 3 skeins of yarn that no one near me stocks. I had to order 3 so I would get free shipping of course.

So what did I buy? From left to right : a skein of Biscotte & Cie Felix in Hallucination A, a skein of Socktopus Sokkusu in Siffie, and a skein of Fibernymph Dye Works Bounce in Tartan. I am having a really hard time not casting on all of them.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How To Get What You Want

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, they are all sooo pretty! Cast them on, cast them on! I know, I always felt that people with birthdays in December or January got slighted. My mom’s birthday is January 5th – always forgotten after the craziness of the holidays (which reminds me, I should get her card and gift ready!) – so she decided to have a “half birthday” and celebrate on July 5th! I feel lucky to have a late June b-day – every 6 months, there’s something to celebrate. Maybe you should consider having a “half birthday” too (???).

    Like

  2. Renee Anne says:

    I, too, get the short end of the stick. My birthday is a week into the new year. Everyone’s coming down from their holiday hangovers and trying to make good on their new year’s resolutions and I’m sitting off to the side, eating my cake, drinking my liquor, and pondering how long it’ll take for someone to notice.

    My dad could never remember my birthday, except that it was right after the new year. That’s how most everyone remembered it. Now they just don’t remember.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    The yarn looks lucious. Yay for free shipping….a good reason to get that extra skein. 😉

    Like

  4. chrisknitsb says:

    My birthday is 15 days after Christmas, my greatest regret is never getting a Suntan Barbie when I was young. LOL. It was always a summer toy. Love the yarn, especially the tartan colorway. Merry Christmas!! And Happy Birthday too, LOL

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    My poor aunt has her birthday on Christmas, I cannot imagine how annoying that would be for children with December birthdays. At least you are able to treat yourself! Each of those yarns is going to make a lovely pair of socks. It is definitely important to support your LYS, my city doesn’t have a single one (last one closed the month I moved here) and so I’ve found myself missing them immensely.

    Like

  6. Susan says:

    Oh, wow, I haven’t seen any of those yarns in person, either. You are going to have to give us a full report once you cast on with them.

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    Lovely yarns! My mom and sister both have December birthdays, and every year the same thing happens like with you. My sister especially. It’s hard to get birthday and christmas gifts for someone who’s bday is 3 days after christmas.

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    That is some awesome sock yarn! Good for you on treating yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

