I Will Never Be Foodie

The older I get and the less calories I allow myself to consume in a day the more particular I am about my food choices. My main concern with what I put in my mouth is taste: Do I want to spend my allowed calories on this food? Is it worth it? Will I be disappointed when I’ve eaten the last bite? There are a few things I have given up entirely or won’t buy and only make myself because the quality just isn’t there anymore. Sorry local to me bakeries. When you added the refrigerator cases and started using the artificial vanilla (a crime in my mind) I stopped buying. You might see me if your bread is still baked fresh. This isn’t to say that I am a food snob. No way! I just want to eat the thing that tastes best to me and if it’s McDonald’s french fries and not Burger King’s so be it.

Example, the birthday cake. I love cake, pretty much all cake except, of course, the ones I don’t. 10 or 15 years ago my idea of the perfect cake would have been from the bakery. It would have been a 2 layer white cake with white frosting. The delicate vanilla taste still lingers in the back of my mind when I see a round frosted white cake. There was a time when only ice cream cake would do. It had to be from Baskin Robbins: chocolate cake, chocolate chip ice cream inside and Jamoca on the outside. Yesterday I quickly threw together the cake I’ve been thinking about lately. The cake is a dark chocolate fudge made with a Duncan Hines mix. If I could make a cake that tastes as fudgy, moist and light as Duncan Hines I would but to me this is the cake I’m looking for. The frosting is Classic Vanilla Buttercream. There is no frosting that compares to homemade buttercream.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Will Never Be Foodie

  1. Lisa says:

    Yum. I understand what you are saying about food, I am starting to get the same way 🙂

    Like

  2. Pumpkin says:

    You cannot go wrong with buttercream! I’ve been trying to improve my baking skills, the problem is that my new medication makes it so that I don’t feel like eating what I make, so I gift people cupcakes and cookies!

    Like

  3. chrisknitsb says:

    I am lax about eating. I want to enjoy food and have no time for counting cals. In fact, I refuse to. LOL. I don’t want it to be like work. But there are times I eat something and it just didn’t live up to expectations. Those are the times I think I need to make better choices.

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I am sooo hungry for cake, frosting, ice cream, fresh baked bread, McDonald’s french fries, and cake batter (yes, I know you’re not supposed to eat cake batter, but…..)!!

    Like

  5. Marilyn says:

    I hope your birthday was wonderful. It looks like you had a good cake to celebrate with! 😀

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    I don’t count calories, only ounces; my daily goal is 50 oz of water, preferably spa/detox water. I do try to eat healthy, more veggies. Food has to taste good. I’m always up for trying new recipes. If it doesn’t taste good, I delete it off my Pinterest board.

    Like

Leave a Reply

