Troublesome Thursday

Before I got out of bed this morning I knew it was going to be a crappy day. The stress level around here with all that’s going on and Christmas and those people who feel they can inflict events on you is reaching a boiling point. In an effort to feel some relief I’m dumping some it here so I don’t spend all day dwelling on it.

  • This creature woke me twice to go out before my alarm went off this morning. All he wanted to do was eat grass. It’s a damn good thing he’s cute.

    What, me?

  • Not one but two “invitations” have been received for the day after Christmas. You know the day you really should hang around the house in your pajamas eating leftover Christmas cookies all day playing with your new toys. And by “invitations” I mean obligations. We will have to decide how to handle these since one is family and the other is volunteer work to make up for someone who dropped the ball on another volunteer situation. Doing both is virtually impossible without involving a family of clones.
  • I still haven’t finished my Christmas shopping. I am 90% done. I just have to get something else for my mother and a couple of the in-law gifts. H and N haven’t done their shopping yet. Maybe this weekend.
  • I need a grocery list and time to shop for Christmas dinner since it’s on me this year. I did remember to order the meat so that’s something in the done pile.
  • Baking! I have a ton of baking to do and I keep thinking of extra people I should bake for. Really, I’ll have to start that this weekend.
  • Since Christmas is here I suppose I have to clean the house. I ran the vacuum around yesterday but by tomorrow this place will need it again. Maybe I can clean really quick next weekend (the one after this). If not the guests will have to ignore the filth.

Well that’s most of it. Today I have to drop the dog at the groomer. I should come home and nap after that to make up for the lack of sleep but I can’t since my mother wants to shop and H needs a ride to work. Oh, and I never did get back to the sweater. I think I’m going to cut the yarn, knit another row and then bind off. It seems the easiest all around. I would always worry knowing I had spit spliced in the ribbing.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in cute & furry, this place, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Troublesome Thursday

  1. Marilyn says:

    I hear ya. The stress this time of year is amazing. And generally the head female in the household is in charge of making sure everything goes smoothly. Darn I wish that rule would change! Hope the rest of the day goes better…
    xo

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow, that is a lot to get done, I hope you get everything figured out! Good luck with all your holiday endeavors, I bet you will figure it out.

    Like

  3. Janet says:

    Ah, yes. The pups do know when to turn on the cute face, don’t they? Good luck on your to-do list. I hope you can find a little bit of time for yourself.

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    How could you say no to that beautiful face? I love your dog. Also, a team of clones is a wonderful idea, or the ability to stop time, that would also be great. Take care and please get some sleep!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Your dog is so photogenic! I hope you get everything figured out and the stress level goes down at least a little.

    Like

  6. Susan says:

    I think we should run away. I’m feeling way more stressed this year than usual. Pack your bags, bring plenty of yarn!

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    I SO feel you, Karen. I am feeling a little overwhelmed. I shopped today but still need to get two Christmas gifts, do some more wrapping, and clean this damn place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

