Unexpected

My mother stopped driving a few years ago. I am her chauffeur for wherever she needs to go. She prefers to grocery shop multiple times per week. I prefer to shop once a month for the majority of it and weekly for the little things like milk and bread. We have reached a compromise on our different styles. We shop weekly for a big shopping and then one other time during the week we shop at the less crowded but more expensive store. Often I buy nothing on these trips. I’ve got enough to get through a few more days. Today I did have to pick up a few things for cookie baking for events happening this weekend. I also needed something to donate for the raffle basket being made by N’s class for the holiday breakfast. I don’t know what made me walk down the magazine aisle. I normally avoid the temptations like People and Southern Living. But down that aisle I went and imagine my shock to see a knitting magazine at the grocery store! I haven’t managed to grab 10 minutes to look through it yet but the pure joy of finding something so unexpected carried me through the rest of the shopping trip and the afternoon.

Sorry about the flash in the photo. I couldn’t get a good photo without the flash. Also I searched but couldn’t find a link to this magazine anywhere.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, knits. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unexpected

  1. Cookie says:

    You are a good woman. You deserve all the knitting magazines you can find.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Wow! Would you mind sharing what store you found that in? I’m local :). I love the mittens on the cover!

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Isn’t it fun to find a hidden treasure? And even more fun to indulge yourself! 😀

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    Oh that looks like a great magazine too, that’s even better than the time I discovered the knitting magazine section at B&N. Looks like the knitters are slowly but surely taking over the world!

    Like

  5. chrisknitsb says:

    My grocery has tons of quilting mags, but never a knitting one! I need to find the new Knit Scene, but that means driving across town to Barnes. It’s on the busiest street of the season. Not going there for nothing on a weekend!

    Like

  6. Janet says:

    What a treat and a fun find! I love the mittens on the cover.

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    That’s a first! I have yet to see a knitting mag at a local grocery store.
    I shop at Trader Joe’s every week. I’m anal like my dad and write up a list and pretty much stick to it. We have a Costco card but there aren’t many organic items so we usually just buy toilet paper and other toiletries that we need from there. Thanks goodness Xmas photo cards are cheap there as I’ve ordered 100.

    Like

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    What a great find and a nice little treat to yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

