Doing Good

Yesterday was the parent/teacher conference at the school. N’s report card was excellent so I knew there would be no issues at the conference and there wasn’t. The teacher, The Husband and I chatted for the appointed 15 minutes mostly about middle school. To be quite honest that is where my eye has been for the past 6 months or so. N doesn’t start there until the fall of 2014 but it’s a huge transition and I believe in being prepared for it.

The one thing I will miss more than anything at our local elementary school is the regular December donation to the children living at a local woman’s shelter. The school sets up a tree and covers it with requests. Each slip mentions a first name, age and the requested item. I love to pour over the tree and find one or two whose wish I can make come true. Normally I am drawn to the little kids whose requests are for a specific toy or piece of clothing. This year The Husband spotted a teenage girl looking for a scarf. In the spring I tucked away the scarf above with the intention of donating it somewhere but I never got around to doing it until now. I had to hunt my photos to find a picture of it. I neglected to include it on ravelry. This is the best I could find. I think I’ll tuck it and Wingspan into a package. I can always make another one. I think this girl probably could use an extra hug even if it’s from a stranger.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Doing Good

  1. Michelle says:

    How heart warming 🙂 we always choose an older child too. They seem to be the ones lost in the shuffle. Toys for Tots and other popular groups concentrate on the little kids and that’s nice and all, but there are plenty of middle school and high school kids in need as well. I’m sure that girl is going to love your hand knits! 🙂

    Like

  2. elpalchica says:

    Oh my goodness. That is so generous. I love the pinky reds in the scarf, I think she would love it.

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    What a lovely way to donate Karen. Bless you.
    It’s always unbelievable when you realize your baby’s moving another step up, yeah? My Cupcake only has two years of elementary school left. Where has the time gone?

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    Oh you are so sweet! I’m sure that she will absolutely love a handknit scarf, they are definitely WAY better than the ones you can get in stores. I would like to think that you may make a knitter out of her someday just by giving her a scarf.

    Like

  5. chrisknitsb says:

    She will love it! I just finished a scarf for a friend. She lost her art studio, so she really needs some love right now. Fire is a terrible thing.

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    Oh Karen, you are so good. You have a kind and thoughtful heart. I count myself blessed to know you.

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It’s like that scarf was just hanging around waiting for you to find that request from the teenage girl. She is going to be so happy to get that cheerful scarf, PLUS a Wingspan – wow! A double hug for her and for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

